You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 15:47:02 Nov 05, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

First Extraordinary Session of the Intergovernmental Committee (1.EXT.COM)

The Intangible Heritage Messenger N&deg;7 (August 2007)
The Intangible Heritage Messenger N°7 (August 2007)

At its first session in Algiers, 18 and 19 November 2006, the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage accepted the generous offer of China to host an extraordinary session of the Committee (Decision 1.COM 8).

This meeting took place in Chengdu, China, from 23 to 27 May 2007.

Committee Members during the first extraordinary session

Algeria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Bulgaria, Central African Republic, China, Estonia, France, Gabon, Hungary, India, Japan, Mali, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, Romania, Senegal, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Viet Nam

Members of the Bureau of the first extraordinary session of the Committee


Oral report:

Decisions, Summary records and participants

Working documents distributed before the meeting

Comments of States Parties solicited by the Intergovernmental Committee during its first session

During its meeting in Algiers the Committee decided (English|French) to invite written comments from the States Parties to the Convention on three issues:

The Secretariat received comments from 35 States Parties, presented here in the language in which they were submitted: Algeria, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, Viet Nam and Zimbabwe.