You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:13:35 Nov 05, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Proclamation of the Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity (2001-2005)

Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity: Proclamations 2001, 2003 and 2005
English|French|Spanish | Japanese

These pages are meant to provide background information on the 90 Masterpieces proclaimed by UNESCO. Please notice that the Proclamation of Masterpieces that took place in 2005 will not be followed by other proclamations. According to Article 31.3 of the Convention, (n)o further Proclamation will be made after the entry into force of this Convention. Please also notice that therefore no new candidature files for proclamation should be sent to UNESCO.

The Convention specifies the relationship between the Convention and the Proclamation in a transitional clause : Article 31.1 stipulates that the Intergovernmental Committee “shall incorporate in the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity the items proclaimed ‘Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity’ before the entry into force of this Convention”.

Origin and objectives

In line with UNESCO’s lengthy quest for the recognition of the function and values of living cultural expressions and practices, the Cultural Heritage Division and the Moroccan National Commission for UNESCO organized in June 1997 in Marrakesh an International Consultation on the Preservation of Popular Cultural Spaces. The experts participating in the consultation decided to recommend the creation of an international distinction by UNESCO to draw attention to outstanding examples of this form of heritage.

Dating back to the fourteenth century, the triangular Jemaa el-Fna Square has become the symbol of Marrakech, protected as part of Morocco’s artistic heritage since 1922. It features a unique concentration of traditions, such as storytelling, healing and various forms of entertainment as well as commercial activities.

In keeping with the results of the International Consultation, the Moroccan authorities, supported by many Member States, submitted a draft resolution proposing the creation of an international distinction for manifestation of ICH and associated cultural spaces. The resolution was adopted by the General Conference at its 29th session in 1997 (English|French|Spanish|Russian|Chinese|Arabic). Consequently, UNESCO’s Executive Board adopted at its 155th session, in November 1998, the Regulations relating to the Proclamation (English|French|Spanish|Russian|Chinese|Arabic).

The Proclamation aimed at:

Selection procedure

It is recalled that no further Proclamation will be made, and that, according to Article 31.2 of the Convention, the incorporation of the [Masterpieces] in the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity shall in no way prejudge the criteria for future inscriptions decided upon in accordance with Article 16, paragraph 2.

Definition and criteria

Guide for the presentation of candidature files
(no further Proclamation will be made)

The Proclamation concerned:

The cultural expressions and spaces proposed for Proclamation had to:

Furthermore, these cultural forms and spaces were to be in conformity with UNESCO ideals and in particular with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The files proposing candidates for Proclamation also had to provide proof of the full involvement and agreement of the communities concerned, and to include an action plan for the safeguarding or promotion of the cultural spaces or expressions, which should have been elaborated in close collaboration with the tradition bearers.


The submission and selection procedure consisted of the following steps:

  1. Member States could submit one candidature files every two years. Over and above the limit of one national file, Member States could submit multinational candidature files.
  2. Once they had been registered and the content verified by the Secretariat, the files were evaluated from a scientific and technical point of view by NGOs specialized in the different domains that are covered by the notion of intangible cultural heritage.
  3. An International Jury consisting of 18 members and nominated by the Director-General for four years, examined the candidatures in the light of the scientific and technical evaluations and in accordance with the critera established by the Rules of the Proclamation. After that, the Jury submitted its recommendations to the Director-General.
  4. Further to the Jury’s recommendation, the Director-general proclaimed a list of Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity.

NGOs solicited for the Proclamation

Jury Members