## REPUBLIC OF KENYA





## OFFICE OF THE VICE PRESIDENT MINISTRY OF STATE FOR NATIONAL HERITAGE & CULTURE OFFICE OF THE PERMANENT SECRETARY

Telegrams: "Heritage" Nairobi

Tel: +254 - 020 - 2251164, 2251005, 2250576

Fax: +254 -020-316187

Website: <a href="mailto:www.nationalheritage.go.ke">www.nationalheritage.go.ke</a> e-mail:info@nationalheritage.go.ke

Ref: NH 1/46

Nairobi Kenya

P.O. Box 49849-00100

Date: 15th March 2010

Ms Cecille Duvelle

Secretary, Convention for the Safeguarding of the

Intangible Cultural Heritage,

UNESCO Section of Intangible Cultural Heritage,

1 Rue Miollis, 75732, Paris Cedex 15,

FRANCE.

## COMMENTS ON MODALITIES AND METHODS OF FACILITATING THE CONTRIBUTION OF NGOs FROM DEVELOPING COUNTRIES

The State Parties to the 2003 UNESCO Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage from Developing Countries should identify and recommend active Non-governmental Organizations with proven competence on ICH matters and whose membership includes experts with experience in

Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage and satisfies the criteria set out in paragraph 88 of the Directives to act in an advisory capacity to the committee.

The NGOs need to be registered in the State Party register of NGOs which are actively involved in Heritage management. In accordance with the operational directives for the implementation of the convention for the safeguarding of Intangible Cultural heritage of June 2008, clause 76 and 77 which allow state parties to create consultative body for coordination of Intangible Cultural Heritage, the cultural Network for Kenya (CU-NET (K) was established through the initiative of African Cultural Regeneration Institute (ACRI) and the Department of Culture and registered.

Kenya supports the principle of equitable geographical representation as this approach will benefit not only developing countries, but also the world at large enhancing the efforts of Safeguarding the Intangible Cultural Heritage in different countries.

DR JACOB OLE MIARON, ( PHD) CBS,

PERMANENT SECRETARY,

mull

CHAIRPERSON.

THE FIFTH UNESCO INTERGOVERNMENTAL COMMITTEE ON INTANGIBLE CULTURAL HERITAGE.