Last update: 09 November 2013

KEY FACTS AND FIGURES ON THE BAHAMAS / UNESCO COOPERATION

- 1. The Bahamas joined UNESCO on 23 April 1981.
- 2. Membership on the Executive Board: two consecutive terms 2001/2005 and 2005/2009
- At the 31st session of the General Conference, it was the first time that the Bahamas presented its candidature. Mr. Davidson Hepburn, Chairperson of the Bahamas National Commission for UNESCO, represented the country on the Board for a four-year term (2001/2005). Mr Davidson Hepburn was President of the General Conference (2009-2011).
- The Bahamas was re-elected at the 33rd session of the General Conference in 2005, and Mr Owen S.M. Bethel, former Chairperson of the Bahamas National Commission for UNESCO, replaced Mr Hepburn in his function to the Executive Board in March 2006. By virtue of a bilateral agreement, Jamaica took over the seat of the Bahamas at the Board in 2007 until the end of the mandate in 2009.
- 3. Membership on Intergovernmental Committees/Council: 2
- Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission –IOC- (The Bahamas has been a member since 29 January 1979).
- Governing Board of the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (former UNESCO Institute for Education, UIE) (UIL) (Hamburg, Germany). Member: Mr Davidson L. HEPBURN (Term expires: 31 December 2015).
- 4. The Bahamas National Commission for UNESCO:
- Established on 6 January 1991.
- Chairman (since July 2012): Hon. Mr Franklyn Wilson
- Secretary-General (since 2013): Dr. Leon Higgs.

- The Commission cooperates with other National Commissions from the Latin America and the Caribbean Region (Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago) in the organization of workshops and seminars and the implementation of programme activities. The Bahamas National Commission also has working relations (on "Changing the Culture of the Classroom" and the Associated School Project network) with UNESCO/Kingston. The Commission is particularly interested in the Organization's focus on Small Island States being strengthened and on the implementation of the Slave Route Project.

• UNESCO's contribution to the capacity-building of the National Commission:

- Ms. Nethalie Gertude Simmons, Secretary General (ag) Ms. Ida Elizabeth Poitier, Special Project Officer attended the Training Seminar for Caribbean National Commissions for UNESCO and cluster Meeting in Preparation for the 36th General Conference, 07/2011, Georgetown Guyana

- Theresa Moxey-Ingraham, Chair - Gertrude Simmons attended the Training Workshop and Cluster Meeting in the Caribbean Sub-Region, 07/2009, Roseau Dominica

Participation in the DG's Consultations on C/4 and C/5:

- Mr. Haldane Chase, Secretary-General attended the 14th Quadrennial Conference and and Director-General's Consultation with National Commissions for UNESCO of Latin America and the Caribbean on the Preparation of the Draft Programme and Budget for 2010-2011 (35 C/5), 06/2008, Panama City Panama

5. Permanent Delegation to UNESCO:

- Ambassador and Permanent Delegate: Mr Elwood I. Donaldson, since 11 November 2013.
- On 20 April 2010, H. E. Mr. Davidson Hepburn presented his credentials as Ambassador and Permanent Delegate of the Bahamas to UNESCO. He is former President of the General Conference (2009/2011) ; former Member of the Executive Board, former Chairperson of the Committee on Conventions and Recommendations and former Chairperson of the National Commission for UNESCO.
- Previous Permanent Delegate: Sidney Poitier (2003-2010). He was the first Permanent Delegate to UNESCO; prior to his appointment this function was always performed by the High Commission of the Bahamas in London.

6. UNESCO Cluster Office in Kingston, Jamaica:

- The Bahamas is covered by the UNESCO Field Office in Kingston, Jamaica.
- The Office was established in October 1989, following the request made by the Government of Jamaica and became Cluster by the DG/Note/01/08 of 27 April 2001.
- Cluster Office for: Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.
- Director: Ms. Christine Norton (Trinidad & Tobago).

7. Prominent officials having privileged relations with UNESCO (Goodwill Ambassadors, Special Envoys, Chairpersons of Committees, etc): none.

- 8. UNESCO Chairs: none.
- 9. Associated Schools: none.
- 10. UNESCO Clubs: none.
- 11. Biosphere Reserves: none.
- **12.** World Heritage List: no inscription.

- 13. Proclamation of Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity: no submission.
- 14. UNESCO's standard-setting instruments: 4 ratified and 32 not ratified.
- 15. Memory of the World Register: 2
- Farquharson's Journal Documentary heritage submitted by Bahamas and recommended for inclusion (2009).
- Registry of Slaves of the British Caribbean 1817-1834 (2009, with an addendum in 2011).
- 16. Anniversaries with which UNESCO is associated in 2014-2015: none.

17. Payment of assessed membership fees: paid in full

- Last payment: October 2013.
- Assessment rate for 2013: 0,017%.

18. Representation within the Secretariat: under-represented

With 1 representative in the Secretariat, the Bahamas (max. 4; min. 2) is underrepresented.