You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 22:43:50 Dec 14, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
 UNESCO.ORG | Education | Natural Sciences | Social & Human Sciences | Culture | Communication & Information


Communication and Information Resources


Communication and Information Sector's news service

Pakistan Press Foundation invites nominations for the Aslam Ali Press Freedom Award 2007

06-04-2007 (Karachi)
Pakistan Press Foundation invites nominations for the Aslam Ali Press Freedom Award 2007
Aslam Ali
Individuals as well as professional and non-governmental organisations working in the field of media and human rights are invited to nominate themselves or other candidates for the second Aslam Ali Press Freedom Award, instituted by the Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF) with the support of UNESCO.
The annual award recognises a person, organisation or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom in Pakistan and carries a cash prize of US$1,650. It is named in honour of Aslam Ali, the former founding trustee of PPF, who was listed in 2000 as one of 50 world press freedom heroes by the International Press Institute (IPI).

The first award was posthumously given to Hayatullah Khan, who was kidnapped and later killed in North Waziristan. He was a reporter for the Urdu-language daily "Ausaf" and a photographer for the European Press Photo Agency (EPA). Khan was selected for the posthumous award in recognition of his contributions and sacrifices for the freedom of the press.

The winner of this second edition of the PPF-Aslam Ali Press Freedom Award will be designated by the Jury consisting of six eminent journalists, academics and human rights experts. Three members of the jury will be nominated by PPF and three by the UNESCO Office in Islamabad.

Candidates for the Award should be submitted by using the nomination form and sent before 15 April 2007 to:
Related themes/countries

      · Pakistan
      · Freedom of the Press
      · Freedom of Expression: News Archives 2007
Share this story:
  • co.mments
  • del.icio.us
  • digg
  • Furl
  • Ma.gnolia
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • Shadows
  • Simpy
  • YahooMyWeb