You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 23:40:25 Dec 14, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
 UNESCO.ORG | Education | Natural Sciences | Social & Human Sciences | Culture | Communication & Information


Graphic element

Communication and Information Resources

Graphic element


Open space to showcase UNESCO’s application of knowledge societies

ICT competency standards for teachers: competency standards modules

ICT competency standards for teachers: competency standards modules
The ICT competency standards for teachers have been designed by UNESCO and its partners to help educational policy-makers and curriculum developers identify the skills teachers need to harness technology in the service of education.
Developed in cooperation with Cisco, Intel and Microsoft, as well as the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), and the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), the standards consist of three parts:

  • a policy framework explaining the rationale, structure and approach of the project;
  • a competency standards modules’ structure, which crosses the components of educational reform with various policy approaches to generate a matrix of skill sets for teachers; and
  • implementation guidelines providing a detailed syllabus of the specific skills to be acquired by teachers within each skill set or module.

  • Download
    This publication does not exist in electronic format and it is not available for the download.
    English File
    Portuguese File External link
    File External link

    Bibliographic reference: URL External link
    External link
    Collation 13 p.
    Publication year 2008
    Document code CI.2007/WS/19

    UNESCO & Communication and Information Sector