You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 00:38:51 Dec 15, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2016

When, local time: 
Monday, 2 May 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm
Finland, Helsinki
Type of Event: 
Prize-giving ceremony
Flavie Romer (f.romer@unesco.org)

This year, the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize award ceremony will be held in Helsinki, Finland on 2 May 2016.
The Prize is awarded annually and marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

Named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, an assassinated Colombian journalist, the Prize is intended to honour a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.

It is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve. Candidates can be submitted by Member States and organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression.