You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 01:36:16 Dec 15, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
Home Page

Indian Ocean




The Commonwealth of Dominica comprises one island and is located near the centre of the Eastern Caribbean chain of islands at 15o 18' North and 61o 22' West. The land area is 750 km2 (290 miles2) - see map below. Roseau is the capital. The population is71,000 (2001 estimates) and the people are descended from Africans with a small number of Amerindians and Europeans. The official language is English, and Creole is spoken locally. The Eastern Caribbean dollar is the local currency.

Click here to read about Small Islands Voice activities in Dominica


Copyright 2003 Lonely Planet Publications. All rights reserved. Used with permission. www.lonelyplanet.com


To get involved, contact :


Ms. Gloria Shillingford
UNESCO National Commission for the Commonwealth of Dominica
Ministry of Education
Government Headquarter
Roseau, Dominica
T: +1 767 449 9059
F: + 1 767 448 0644


| Home Page |
About |Caribbean | Indian Ocean | Pacific | Young Islanders | Global Forum