You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 02:17:46 Dec 15, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
Home Page

Indian Ocean



The Republic of Palau consists of 586 islands, twelve of which are inhabited, and stretches from the northern atoll of Kayangel for over 640 km south to the island of Hatahobei (see map below). With an Exclusive Economic Zone of 600,900 km˛, Palau's total land area is about 535 km˛, 25% of its landmass is below ten meters above sea level. Babeldaob is the largest island. Palau's current population is just over 19,000 with an annual growth rate of 2.3 percent. Most of the population lives in the island of Koror where the present capital is located. Palauan and English are the two main languages. The local currency is the US dollar.

© Copyright 2003 Lonely Planet Publications. All rights reserved. Used with permission. www.lonelyplanet.com


To get involved, contact :


National Co-ordinator
Mr Joe Chilton
Palau Community College
PO Box 9
Koror, 96940
Republic of Palau
T: + 680 488 2470
F: + 680 488 6563

Ms. Tiare Holm
Palau Conservation Society
P.O. Box 1811,
Koror, 96940
Republic of Palau
T: ++ 680 488 3993
F: ++ 680 488 3990

| Home Page |
About |Caribbean | Indian Ocean | Pacific | Young Islanders | Global Forum