You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 05:22:38 Dec 15, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Home > UNESCO MCT sites in Africa - Updated: 15-10-2002 12:56
   Communication and Information
      WebWorld Sitemap
      Themes Archives
         Information for Community Development
            Multipurpose Community Telecentres
               MCT Pilot Projects in Africa
                  UNESCO MCT sites in Africa Current Topic
      Communication and Information Sector
      About the Sector
      Activities by themes
      Activities by region/country
      Supporting Research
      Intergovernmental Programmes

MCT Pilot Projects in Africa
Project Evaluation and Future Steps


The six pilot projects sponsored by IDRC, the ITU and UNESCO/DANIDA, in collaboration with other international partners (British Council, FAO, UNDP, WHO), are sited in five different Sub-Saharan African countries.

Countries currently hosting a UNESCO-sponsored MCT project
UNESCO MCT sites in Africa

The MCT sites for each of the five projects were selected in each country by the national authorities on the basis of local needs and initiatives, development priorities and available infrastructure are as follows:

- Benin (Malanville – a town of about 26,000 in the lightly populated far north of the country)
- Mali (Timbuktu – a town of about 30,000 and regional seat in the desert north)
- Mozambique (Manhiça and Namaacha – towns of 22,000 and 10,000 close to the capital, Maputo)
- Tanzania (Sengerema – a town of about 45,000 on Lake Victoria)
- Uganda (Nakaseke – a rural village of about 1000, located at 50 km north of the capital, Kampala)

A final project evaluation and impact assessment, involving all of the six telecentres, is currently underway and it is expected to be completed in 2003.


ID: 5542 | guest (Read)    © 2005 - UNESCO