KEY FACTS AND FIGURES ON NORWAY / UNESCO COOPERATION

- 1. Membership in UNESCO: founding member (4 November 1946)
- 2. Membership on the Executive Board: not currently (last term: 2007-2009)
- 3. Membership on Intergovernmental Committees, Commissions, etc.:
 - Intergovernmental Council of the "Management of Social Transformations" Programme; Vice-President (term expires in 2017)
 - Intergovernmental Council of the International Programme for the Development of Communication (term expires in 2015)
 - Governing Board of the UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning Chairperson : Mr Birger Fredriksen
 - Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission; Vice-President: Mr Peter Haugan

4. The Director-General's visits to Norway: 4

- 6-7 July 2015: to attend the Oslo Summit on Education for Development
- 9-10 December 2014: to attend the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize Award Ceremony taking place on 10 December at the City Hall of the city of Oslo.
- From 23 to 25 March 2014, you paid your second visit to the Kingdom of Norway, on the occasion of the International Conference entitled "Synergies for Development Using Natural and Cultural Heritage in Sustainable Development" which is taking place in Bergen on 24-26 March 2014.
- 5-7 September 2010: official visit, signature of the Programme Cooperation Agreement for 2010-2011 with the Minister of the Environment and International Development

5. The former Director-General's visits to Norway: 2

- 16-18 December 2008: on the occasion of the Eighth High Level Group Meeting on EFA
- 25-27 June 2002: official visit

6. Permanent Delegation to UNESCO:

- Mrs Elin Østebø Johansen, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Norway to OECD and UNESCO (since 14 September 2014)
- Staff: Mrs Gry Ulverud, Deputy Permanent Delegate; Ms Kristin Karlsen, Chargée de mission
- Previous Permanent Delegates: Mr Tore Eriksen, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of Norway to OECD, Permanent Delegate to UNESCO (21 October 2011 – September 2014); Mr Harald Neple, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of Norway to OECD and UNESCO (September 2006 – October 2011); Ms Tanja H. Storm, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of Norway to OECD (February 2005 – August 2006); Mr Sven Svedman, Ambassador of Norway to France (September 2003 – February 2005); Mr Rolf Trolle Andersen (June 1998 – September 2003)

7. UNESCO Office: none

8. Norwegian National Commission for UNESCO:

- Date of establishment: November 1946
- President: Ms Tora Aasland (since January 2013)
- Secretary-General: Ms Tanja Kristine Hegge (since September 2012)

9. Norwegian personalities linked to UNESCO's activities:

- Mr Kjell Magne Bondevik, former Prime Minister of Norway and Founder and President of the Oslo Center for Peace and Human Rights, is a member of the High Panel on Peace and Dialogue among Cultures
- Mr. Jan Monteverde Haakonsen, Vice-Chair of the MOST Intergovernmental Council
- Mr Birger Fredriksen, Chairperson of the Governing Board of the UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP)
- Mr Peter Haugan, Vice-President of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

10. UNESCO Chairs: 1

- UNESCO Chair on education for sustainable lifestyles (2015), Hedmark University College, Elverum (1104)
- **11. Associated Schools:** 58 (9 primary, 10 primary and secondary, 35 secondary schools, and 4 teacher training institutions). Norway joined the ASP Network in 1953.

12. Category 2 Institutes and Centres: 1

- Nordic World Heritage Foundation, Oslo
- 13. UNESCO Clubs: none
- 14. Biosphere Reserves: none
- 15. World Heritage Sites: 8 (7 Cultural and 1 Natural)

Cultural:

- Urnes Stave Church (1979)
- Bryggen (1979)
- Rock Art of Alta (1985)
- Røros Mining Town and the Circumference (1980, extension in 2010)
- Vegaøyan The Vega Archipelago (2004)
- Struve Geodetic Arc (2005), jointly with Belarus, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Sweden and Ukraine
- Rjukan–Notodden Industrial Heritage Site (2015)

Natural:

• West Norwegian Fjords - Geirangerfjord and Nærøyfjord (2005)

16. Tentative List: 5 properties

- The Laponian Area Tysfjord, the fjord of Hellemobotn and Rago (extension) (2002)
- The Lofoten islands (2002)
- Svalbard Archipelago (2007)
- Islands of Jan Mayen and Bouvet as parts of a serial transnational nomination of the Mid-Atlantic Ridge system (2007)
- Viking Monuments and Sites / Vestfold Ship Burials and Hyllestad Quernstone Quarries (2011)

17. Intangible Heritage Lists: no elements

18. Memory of the World Register: 5 inscriptions

- The Leprosy Archives of Bergen (2001)
- Henrik Ibsen: A Doll House (2001)
- Roald Amundsen's South Pole Expedition (1910-1912) (2005)
- Thor Heyerdahl Archives (2011)
- Sophus Tromholt Collection (2013)

19. Creative Cities Network: no appointments

20. Legal instruments: 27 ratified, 13 non-ratified

- Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage: non-ratified
- Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage: ratification (17 January 2007)
- Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions: ratification (17 January 2007)
- International Convention against Doping in Sport: ratification (13 January 2006). Norway contributed US\$ 20,747 in 2003 for the development of the Convention.
- 21. Anniversaries with which UNESCO is associated in 2014-2015: none
- 22. Participation Programme: no requests submitted since 2006
- 23. Fellowships: no fellowships requested

24. Payment of assessed membership fees for 2014 - 2015: fully paid

- Assessment rate for 2015: 0.851%
- Contributions assessed for 2014-2015: US\$5,557,030
- **25.** Voluntary contributions (expressed in US\$):

Year	2014	2013*	2012	2011	2010	2009
Total	12,607,128	12,467,904	10,120,739	11,321,520	10,061,398	11,709,466

- 26. Representation within the Secretariat: normally represented
 - 4 professional staff in geographical posts (min. 4, max. 6):