You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 18:50:57 Dec 16, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize

Characters of Jikji metal types - © Bibliothèque nationale de France

In conformity with the Statutes of the UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize, UNESCO is inviting nominations for the sixth award of this Prize. Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, are invited to submit nominations for the Prize, as are the international NGOs maintaining official relations with UNESCO, and whose work involves the preservation and conservation of documentary heritage.

Nomination files, which can be submitted in either English or French, must include a summary or the results of the work and publications of the nominee, and/or other supporting documents of major importance. A review of the way in which the work has contributed to the preservation of, and accessibility to documentary heritage also must be included. 

Documents for the submissions:

Nominations should be sent, no later than on 15 December 2015, to:

Ms Iskra Panevska
Programme Specialist
Universal Access and Preservation Section
Knowledge Societies Division
7 place de Fontenoy
75732 Paris Cedex 15
Tel: +
E-mail: i.panevska(at)unesco.org

The UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize was created to commemorate the inscription of the Buljo jikji simche yojeol, the oldest known book of moveable metal print in the world, on the Memory of the World Register. It seeks also to contribute to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage as a common heritage of humanity.

Funded by the Republic of Korea through arrangements made with the Municipal Council of Cheongju City, the Prize is awarded every two years to individuals, institutions, other entities or Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) that have made significant contributions to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage.

Back to top