You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 21:49:21 Dec 16, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Christopher Okigbo Collection

Documentary heritage submitted by Africa and recommended for inclusion in the Memory of the World Register in 2007.

© Christopher Okigbo Foundation (COF)
Okigbo Will Return

The status of Christopher Okigbo (1932-67) as the greatest Anglophonic, postcolonial, modernist African poet of the twentieth-century has been established beyond all reasonable doubt not only in two major studies of his works but in tributes paid to him in a collection of memorial tributes (Don’t Let Him Die: An Anthology of Memorial Poems for Christopher Okigbo) co-edited by Africa’s most outstanding novelist, Chinua Achebe (1978). His major collection of poems was listed as one of the most influential 100 African literary world of the twentieth-century.

  • Year of submission: 2007
  • Year of inscription: 2007
  • Country: Africa
Back to top