You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 17:40:24 Dec 18, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Prizes in Education

The purpose of UNESCO’s Education prizes is to reward outstanding efforts in the drive to achieve quality education for all. The themes of the prizes (literacy, special needs, information and communication technologies, human rights and peace) are aligned with UNESCO’s policies and programmes.

UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development

Within the framework of the Global Action Programme (GAP) on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD), the UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development honours outstanding efforts of individuals, institutions, organizations or other entities engaged in ESD activities.

The Prize was established by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 195th session, and officially announced at the UNESCO World Conference on ESD (10-12 November 2014, Aichi-Nagoya, Japan). More

The UNESCO-Hamdan Bin Rashid Al-Maktoum Prize for Outstanding Practice and Performance in Enhancing the Effectiveness of Teachers

Awarded every two years, the Prize recognizes initiatives that contribute to improving educational practices around the world, with priority given to developing countries and to marginalized and disadvantaged communities. More

UNESCO/Emir Jaber al-Ahmad al-Jaber al-Sabah Prize to Promote Quality Education for Persons with Intellectual Disabilities

Judy Mckenzie from South Africa has worked in the disability field since 1980

Awarded every two years, this US$20,000, prize rewards two persons or institutions – one from the Arab States Region and another from a different part of the world -  for their contribution to the education of the mentally disabled. More

The UNESCO King Hamad Bin Isa Al Khalifa Prize for the use of ICTs in Education

This annual prize is placed under the patronage of King Hamad Bin Isa Al Khalifa of the Kingdom of Bahrain. The prize (a diploma and US$50,000 divided between two laureates) aims to reward projects and activities of individuals, institutions, other entities or non-governmental organizations for excellent models, best practice, and creative use of ICTs to enhance learning, teaching and overall educational performance.  More

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

These prizes are awarded annually on International Literacy Day (8 September) to promote excellence and innovation for a literate world.  Currently, UNESCO awards two International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize, created in 1989 through the generosity of the Government of the Republic of Korea. The Prize consists of two awards each of a sum of US$20,000, a silver medal and a certificate.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005 through the generosity of the Government of the People’s Republic of China in honour of the great Chinese scholar Confucius. The Prize consists of two awards each of a sum of US$20,000, a silver medal and a certificate.  More about the prize

Back to top