You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 21:58:44 Dec 18, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Bilateral and Multi-lateral Donors

Partnerships between donor organizations and countries are vital for supporting national efforts to achieve education for all and promote learning at all levels.

Partnerships involve not only the flow of technical and financial resources to low-income countries, but working together towards greater coherence of strategies and better targeted and more reliable aid in the spirit of the Paris aid effectiveness agenda.

Strategic partnerships with multilateral donor agencies include the European Union, the OECD's Development Assistance Committee (DAC), and Development Banks.

Important partnerships with donor organizations in the Education Sector include:

CapEFA programme
This programme addresses quality and equity issues through institutional and organizational capacity development in both formal and non-formal education. Focusing mainly on the high-demand areas of teacher education, secondary education, and literacy and adult education, the CapEFA programme strengthens and feeds into UNESCO's cooperation with other partners within national assistance development frameworks.

Major donor countries and their relevant institutions for the Education for All movement:

AUSTRIA: Foreign Ministry
BELGIUM: Development Cooperation (DGDC)
BELGUIM: Technical Cooperation (BTC)
CANADA: Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
DENMARK: Ministry of Foreign Affairs
FINLAND: Department for International Development Co-operation (global.finland)
FRANCE: Department for International Co-operation
FRANCE: Le Groupe de l'Agence française de Développement (AfD)
GERMANY: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ)
GERMANY:Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
GREECE: Ministry of Foreign Affairs
IRELAND: Development Cooperation Ireland
ITALY: Ministry of Foreign Affairs
JAPAN: Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC)
JAPAN: Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
JAPAN: Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA)
LUXEMBOURG: Lux-Development
NORWAY: Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (NORAD)
PORTUGAL: Ministry of Foreign Affairs
PORTUGAL: Portuguese Institute for Development Support (in Portugese)
SPAIN: Spanish Agency for International Cooperation (AECI)
SWEDEN: Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)
SWITZERLAND: Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC)
UNITED KINGDOM: Department for International Development (DFID)
UNITED STATES: United States Agency for International Development (USAID)

Back to top