You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 00:38:02 Dec 19, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO Commemorative Medals

Since 1966, UNESCO’s Philatelic and Numismatic Programme has issued two series of commemorative medals:

World Heritage
The first series illustrates remarkable monuments and sites of humanity’s cultural and natural heritage that are threatened with destruction, and UNESCO's efforts at an international level to save them. Some, like the Nubia and Borobudur campaigns, are among UNESCO’s biggest success stories in the preservation and restoration of monuments. Also included are other heritage sites that UNESCO wishes to highlight.

Anniversaries and Historic Events
The second series relates to anniversaries of outstanding persons and historic events. UNESCO has been given the task by its General Conference of focusing public attention on these dates, on the basis of proposals put forward by Member States, with the aim of contributing to better international understanding.

Some 55 medals have been issued so far. With the exeption of a few, the medals are struck in gold, silver and bronze, most of them by the Paris Mint, and sold in a presentation box with a stand, only at the UNESCO Giftshop. We regret to inform you that we are unable to process mail orders and online sales.

Back to top