You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:01:52 Dec 19, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Intergovernmental Council of IPDC


An Intergovernmental Council composed of 39 member states is elected by UNESCO's General Conference, taking into account the need to ensure equitable geographical distribution and appropriate rotation. 

The Council is responsible for:

  • Policy-making, guiding the planning and the implementation of the Programme;
  • Approving priorities of the Programme;
  • Reviewing and assessing achievements on the basis of implementation and evaluation reports on the projects and defining the basic areas requiring increased international cooperation;
  • Reviewing ways and means whereby Member States might participate more effectively in the International Programme for the Development of Communication;
  • Approving an appropriate system of financing for the Programme in order to secure the necessary resources for the benefit of those requesting assistance from the Programme.

The Council normally meets in a regular plenary session once every two years. Extraordinary sessions may be convened as specified in the Council’s Rules of Procedure.  

  • Last IPDC Council session:
    29th IPDC Council session, 20-21 November 2014
  • Next IPDC Council session:
    30th IPDC Council session, 17-18 November 2016

Composition of the Intergovernmental Council of IPDC from the thirty-seventh session of the General Conference:

Composition of the Intergovernmental Council of IPDC from the thirty-sixth session of the General Conference
Afghanistan Denmark Niger
Algeria Dominican Republic Norway
Azerbaijan Gambia Pakistan
Bahrain Ghana Peru
Bangladesh Grenada Poland
Belarus Guatemala Russian Federation
Brazil Honduras Sweden
Burkina Faso Iran (Islamic Republic of) Togo
Congo Kazakhstan Tunisia
Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Turkey
Croatia Madagascar United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Cuba Mongolia United States of America
Democratic People's Republic of Korea Netherlands Yemen
Back to top