You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:05:48 Dec 19, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Intergovernmental Council for IFAP

The Programme is guided in its planning and implementation by an Intergovernmental Council comprising 26 UNESCO Member States that are elected by UNESCO’s General Conference. The functioning of the Council is financed by UNESCO’s regular budget.


Within the framework of the decisions of the General Conference concerning the Information for All Programme, the Council shall guide its planning and implementation. This shall, in particular, include:

  • considering proposals on the development and adaptation of the Information for All Programme;
  • recommending the broad lines of action that the Information for All Programme could take;
  • reviewing and assessing achievements and defining the basic areas requiring increased international co-operation;
  • promoting participation of Member States in the Information for All Programme;
  • supporting all fund raising efforts for the implementation of the Information for All Programme.


Member States elected from 38th to end of 40th session of the General Conference (2015-2019): Member States elected from 37th to end of 39th session of the General Conference (2013-2017):
Argentina Bahrain
Cambodia Botswana
Egypt China
Ethiopia Guinea
Ghana Lithuania
Grenada Russian Federation
Israel Senegal
Malaysia Slovakia
The Netherlands Sudan
Peru Switzerland
Philippines Turkey
Sweden Venezuela
Back to top