You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:46:44 Dec 19, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Three architects, three nationalities

Plans for the three headquarters buildings were prepared jointly by Marcel Breuer of the United States, Pier Luigi Nervi of Italy and Bernard Zehrfuss of France. They were approved by an international panel of five architects: Lucio Costa (Brazil), Walter Gropius (United States), Charles Le Corbusier (France), Sven Markelius (Sweden) and Ernesto Rogers (Italy). American architect Eero Saarinen was also consulted.

Architects drawing plans for UNESCO's new building

Architect and designer, Marcel Breuer has taught and lectured in universities and art institutes in the United States and other countries. He is the author of many widely published articles on art and architecture. His important projects include: Arts Centre and Theatre, Sarah Lawrence College, New York; Grosse Pointe Public Library, Michigan; and the airport terminal buildings at Fairbanks and Anchorage, Alaska.

Pier Luigi Nervi, engineer, architect, teacher and writer, has designed and constructed many buildings in Italy, making special use of reinforced concrete. These projects include stadiums, theatres, industrial plants, department stores and airport buildings.

Bernard Zehrfuss, winner of the Rome Grand Prix was architect and adviser to many official and private organizations. Among his works are the National Centre for Mechanized Industries, in Paris, the Renault motor car works at Flins and many housing projects in France, Algeria and Tunisia.

Charles Le Corbusier is widely known for his bold architectural conceptions which have materialized in such projects as the city of Chandigarh in India and the ultra-modern building, the Cité radieuse, in Marseille, France.

Walter Gropius, one of the pioneers of modern architecture, founded the famous Bauhaus school in Germany.

Ernesto Rogers has carried out many important town-planning and architectural projects and has taught in several universities.

Sven Markelius was town planner for the city of Stockholm, the Swedish capital.

Lucio Costa drew up the plans for Brazil’s new capital, Brasilia.

Eero Saarinen designed the Washington Dulles airport building and the TWA terminal at New York's Kennedy airport.

Eugene Callison, American architect and engineer, directed the technical construction work at the UNESCO headquarters site.

UNESCO's new home is the result of their joint efforts.

Back to top