You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 00:45:07 Dec 21, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
18.06.2013 - UNESCOPRESS

55 new inscriptions on UNESCO Memory of the World Register

The Life and Works of Ernesto Che Guevara: from the original manuscripts of his adolescence and youth to the campaign Diary in Bolivia, presented by Bolivia and Cuba; the Pages of Testimony Collection, Yad Vashem Jerusalem, 1954-2004, presented by Israel; and Maha Lawkamarazein or Kuthodaw Inscription Shrines, presented by Myanmar, are among 55 new additions to the Memory of the World Register, approved today by UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova.

The complete list is available at: http://www.unesco.org/new/en/communication-and-information/flagship-project-activities/memory-of-the-world/register/access-by-year/2013/

These new elements of documentary heritage were proposed by 40 countries and the International Commission for the International Tracing Service (ITS). They were evaluated and recommended by the International Consultative Committee for the Memory of the World programme, meeting in Gwangju (Republic of Korea) from 18 to 21 June.

The items presented by Israel, Myanmar, Nepal are the first inscriptions on the register for these countries. The ITS item is also the first on the register for the Commission.

The Memory of the World Register now includes a total of 300 documents and document collections from the five continents, safeguarded on various supports from stone to celluloid and parchment to sound recordings.

During its current session, the Committee also announced that this year’s  UNESCO/ Jikji Memory of the World Prize would be awarded to ADABI (Apoyo al Desarrollo de Archivos y Bibliotecas),  a Mexican non-profit association, in recognition of its innovative approach to conservation, digitization and accessibility of archives, as well as its education and training programmes. The association encourages communities to play an active role in safeguarding archives and sensitizing the public to the importance of documentary heritage.

The $30,000 Prize is awarded every two years to institutions or individuals having made a significant contribution to the conservation and accessibility of documentary heritage.


Media Contact: Lucía Iglesias Kuntz, UNESCO Press Service,  
+33 (0) 1 45 68 17 02, l.iglesias(at)unesco.org

<- Back to: News articles
Back to top