You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:10:11 Dec 21, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
UNESCO.ORG The OrganizationEducationNatural SciencesSocial SciencesCultureCommunication & Information
UNESCO > Education > Higher Education > International University Cooperation

Academics Across Borders

University Twinning and Networking/UNITWIN

University Community and Education for All (EFA)
Brain Drain/Gain
 UNESCO Chairs and
 UNITWIN Networks
Access by Domain

- Education
- Natural Sciences
- Social & Human Sciences
- Culture
- Communication & Information
- Special Focus

Access by Region/Country

UNESCO Forum on Higher Education, Research and Knowledge

The Global Forum on International Quality Assurance and Accreditation

UNESCO/NGO Collective Consultation on Higher Education



Below a list of established UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks (marked in bold)in the field of Geosciences, by country.


UNESCO Chair on Natural Hazards in the Geosphere, the Hydrosphere and the Atmosphere (751), established in 2006 at the National Observatory of Athens (Greece)

UNITWIN-UNESCO/KU/ICL Landslides Risk Mitigation for Society and Environment Cooperation Programme at Kyoto University (605), established in 2003 at Kyoto University, (Japan)

UNITWIN Network on emergency preparedness and responses (704), established in 2005 at Waseda University, Tokyo (Japan)

UNESCO Chair in Geosciences (158), established in 1998 at the Abdou Moumouni University, Niamey (Niger)

UNESCO Chair in Earth Sciences and Georesources Engineering Management (725), established in 2006 at the University of Ibadan (Nigeria)

UNESCO Chair in Geodynamics (676), established in 2005 at the Institute of Geodynamics “Sabba S.Stefanescu” of the Romanian Academy, Bucharest (Romania)

UNESCO Chair in geosciences and sustainable development (756), established in 2007 at the University of Lomé (Togo).

UNESCO Chair in the Development of a Sustainable Geo-environment (835), established in 2009 at Cardiff University (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

UNESCO & International University Cooperation
Who's who?
Launching of the Academics Across Borders Initiative (AAB)
World Forum of UNESCO Chairs
UNESCO Chairs & UNITWIN Networks in Higher Education

UNITWIN Guidelines and Procedures
News Archive

© UNESCO 2005