You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:10:49 Dec 21, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
UNESCO.ORG The OrganizationEducationNatural SciencesSocial SciencesCultureCommunication & Information
UNESCO > Education > Higher Education > International University Cooperation

Academics Across Borders

University Twinning and Networking/UNITWIN

University Community and Education for All (EFA)
Brain Drain/Gain
 UNESCO Chairs and
 UNITWIN Networks
Access by Domain

- Education
- Natural Sciences
- Social & Human Sciences
- Culture
- Communication & Information
- Special Focus

Access by Region/Country

UNESCO Forum on Higher Education, Research and Knowledge

The Global Forum on International Quality Assurance and Accreditation

UNESCO/NGO Collective Consultation on Higher Education



Below a list of established UNESCO Chairs in the field of biotechnology by country

UNESCO Chair in Biophysics and molecular neurobiology (313), established in 1998 at the National University of the South (Argentina)

UNESCO Chair in biotechnology (50), established in 1997 at the University of Ouagadougou, (Burkina Faso)

UNESCO-UNU Chair in Plant Biotechnology (62), established in 1992 at Peking University (China)

UNESCO Chair in biomaterials (364), established in 1998 at the University of La Havana (Cuba)

UNESCO Chair in Food and Environment Biotechnology for sustainable development (BIODEV) (578), established in 2002 at the University of Provence(Aix-Marseille 1), (France)

UNESCO Chair in Biotechnology (508), established in 2000 at the Indian Institute of Science, (India)

UNESCO Interdisciplinary Chair in Biotechnology (112), established in 1998 at "Tor Vergata" University of Rome (Italy)

UNESCO Chair in Biotechnology (549), established in 2001 at Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (Kenya)

UNESCO Chair in Seafood biotechnology (532), established in 2001 at Sultan Qaboos University (Oman)

UNESCO Chair in Biotechnology (449), established in 1999 at the University of Limpopo (former University of the North) (South Africa)

UNESCO & International University Cooperation
Who's who?
Launching of the Academics Across Borders Initiative (AAB)
World Forum of UNESCO Chairs
UNESCO Chairs & UNITWIN Networks in Higher Education

UNITWIN Guidelines and Procedures
News Archive