

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture

Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación, la Ciencia y la Cultura

Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры

منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة

联合国教育、· 科学及文化组织 .

# Conference of Parties to the International Convention against Doping in Sport

3CP

Third Session
Paris, UNESCO Headquarters, Room II
14-16 November 2011

Distribution: Limited

ICDS/3CP/Doc.8 31 May 2011 Original: English

Item 6.4 of the Provisional Agenda

**Election of Members of the Approval Committee** for the Fund for the Elimination of Doping in Sport

**Decision Required:** Paragraph 3

ICDS/3CP/Doc.8

- 1. The Approval Committee for the Fund for the Elimination of Doping in Sport (hereinafter referred to as "the Approval Committee") was formally established by the Conference of Parties at its second session in October 2009. Resolution 2CP/4.3 sets forth the mandate of the Approval Committee; it is responsible for the allocation of the Fund for the Elimination of Doping in Sport in accordance with the resolutions of the Conference of Parties.
- 2. As per Resolution 2CP/4.3, the Approval Committee shall consist of six representatives of States Parties elected by the Conference of Parties on the basis of equitable geographical representation (one from each of the electoral groups as established by the General Conference of UNESCO herewith attached as Annex 1), who will serve until the next ordinary session of the Conference of Parties. Moreover, States Parties are encouraged to nominate representatives who have the recognized experience and knowledge in the field of anti-doping.

#### DRAFT RESOLUTION 3CP/6.4

3. The Conference of Parties may wish to adopt the following resolution:

The Conference of Parties,

1. *Elects* [State Party] [State Party] [State Party] [State Party] [State Party] to the Approval Committee.

#### **ANNEX**

# Groupings of Member States for the Purpose of Elections to the Executive Board

#### Group I

Andorra Iceland Portugal San Marino Austria Ireland Israel Belgium Spain Canada Sweden Italy Cyprus Luxembourg Switzerland Denmark Malta Turkey

Finland Monaco United Kingdom of Great
France Netherlands Britain and Northern Ireland
Germany Norway United States of America

Greece

#### **Group II**

Albania Georgia Serbia
Armenia Hungary Slovakia
Azerbaijan Latvia Slovenia
Belarus Lithuania Tajikistan

Bosnia and Herzegovina Montenegro The former Yugoslav Republic

Bulgaria Poland of Macedonia

Croatia Republic of Moldova Ukraine

Czech Republic Romania Uzbekistan

Estonia Russian Federation

#### **Group III**

Antigua and Barbuda Dominican Republic Paraguay Argentina Ecuador Peru

Bahamas El Salvador Saint Kitts and Nevis

Barbados Grenada Saint Lucia

Belize Guatemala Saint Vincent and the

Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Guyana Grenadines
Brazil Haiti Suriname

Chile Honduras Trinidad and Tobago

Colombia Jamaica Uruguay

Costa Rica Mexico Venezuela (Bolivarian

Cuba Nicaragua Republic of)

Dominica Panama

#### ICDS/3CP/Doc.8 Annex – page 2

#### **Group IV**

Afghanistan Australia Bangladesh Bhutan

Brunei Darussalam Cambodia China Cook Islands

Democratic People's Republic of Korea Fiii

Fiji India Indonesia

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Japan Kazakhstan Kiribati Kyrgyzstan

Lao People's Democratic

Republic Malaysia Maldives

Marshall Islands Micronesia (Federated

States of)
Mongolia
Myanmar
Nauru
Nepal
New Zealand

Niue Pakistan Palau

Papua New Guinea

Philippines

Republic of Korea

Samoa Singapore

Solomon Islands

Sri Lanka Thailand Timor-Leste Tonga Turkmenistan

Tuvalu Vanuatu Viet Nam

## **Group V**

#### (a)

Angola
Benin
Botswana
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cameroon
Cape Verde
Central African Republic

Chad
Comoros
Congo
Côte d'Ivoire

Democratic Republic of

the Congo Djibouti

**Equatorial Guinea** 

Eritrea Niger
Ethiopia Nigeria
Gabon Rwanda
Gambia Sao Tome and Principe

Ghana Senegal
Guinea Seychelles
Guinea-Bissau Sierra Leone
Kenya Somalia
Lesotho South Africa
Liberia Swaziland
Madagascar Togo

Malawi Uganda Mali United Republic of

Mauritius Tanzania
Mozambique Zambia
Namibia Zimbabwe

### (b)

Algeria Bahrain Egypt

Iraq Jordan Kuwait Lebanon

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Mauritania Morocco Oman Qatar Saudi Arabia

Sudan

Syrian Arab Republic

Tunisia

**United Arab Emirates** 

Yemen