

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

## Conference of Parliamentarians for UNESCO

Saturday, 3 October 2009, Room X (Fontenoy) UNESCO - Paris

## AGENDA

Within the framework of establishing a global partnership for development (Millennium Development Goal n°8) and UNESCO's 2008-2013 Medium Term Strategy, underlining the necessity to forge a stronger partnership between the Organization and parliamentarians with the aim to associate them more closely with the implementation of its programmes, the Sector for External Relations and Cooperation is organizing a Conference of Parliamentarians for UNESCO on Saturday, 3 October 2009 in Room X (Fontenoy).

The participants will be the Parliamentary Focal Points for UNESCO (107) and, the representatives of parliamentary organizations, partners of the Organization such as the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), the Latin American Parliament (Parlatino), the Parliamentary Assembly of Francophonie (APF), the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, the European Parliament, the Pan-African Parliament (PAP), the Arab Inter-Parliamentary Union (AIPU), the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) and the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly.

This one-day meeting will be an opportunity to explore ways and means of reinforcing the cooperation between UNESCO and Parliamentarians, namely to promote the Organization's objectives via legislation and national budgets voted in its fields of competence.

The working sessions of the Conference will focus mainly on the following topics:

- 1. Sustain the Education for All (EFA) programme,
- 2. Present the Regional Parliamentary Fora for Education,
- 3. Ratify international conventions of UNESCO in the field of Culture,
- 4. Promote freedom of expression and freedom of the press,
- 5. Contribute to the necessary measures for Action on Climate Change,
- 6. Promote human rights and democracy,
- 7. Promote UNESCO's normative action.

09:30 10:30	<ul> <li>Opening Ceremony</li> <li>H. Exc. Mr George N. Anastassopoulos, President of the General Conference of UNESCO (message)</li> <li>Mr Ahmed Sayyad, Assistant Director-General for External Relations and Cooperation, Representative of the Director-General</li> <li>H. Exc. Mrs Roberta Alma Anastase, President of the Chamber of Deputies of Romania</li> <li>H. Exc. Mr Justin Koumba, Speaker of the National Assembly of the Republic of Congo</li> <li>H. Exc. Mr Rajkeswur Purryag, Speaker of the National Assembly of the Republic of Mauritius</li> </ul>
MORNING SESSION	
10:30	<b>Moderator:</b> Mr Ahmed Sayyad, Assistant Director-General for External Relations and Cooperation <b>Appointment of the Rapporteur</b>
10:30 12:00	<ul> <li>First Working Session:</li> <li><i>Education For All (EFA ) and Regional Parliamentary Fora for Education</i></li> <li>Mr Olav Seim, Director, EFA Coordination Team, Education Sector</li> <li>Mr David Kibet Koech, President of the Forum of African Parliamentarians for Education (FAPED) Chairman of the Education, Research and Technology Committee, National Assembly of Kenya</li> <li>Mr Foued Gargouri, President of the Forum of Arab Parliamentarians for Education (FARPED) President of the Education, Culture, Information and Youth Committee, Tunisian Chamber of Deputies</li> <li>Mr Kim Young Jin, Vice-President of the Forum of Asia-Pacific Parliamentarians for Education (FASPPED) Member of the National Assembly of the Republic of Korea</li> </ul>
12:00 13:00	<ul> <li>Second Working Session :         <ul> <li>Freedom of expression and freedom of the press</li> </ul> </li> <li>Mr Mogens Schmidt, Deputy Assistant Director-General for Communication and Information, Director of the Division for Freedom of Expression, Democracy and Peace, Communication and Information Sector</li> <li>Debate</li> </ul>
13:00 - 14:30 Luncheon buffet at UNESCO Restaurant (7th floor)	
AFTERNOON SESSION	
	Moderator : Mr Pierre Sané, Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences
14:30 15:15	<ul> <li>Third Working Session :</li> <li>Promotion of human rights and democracy</li> <li>Mr Pierre Sané, Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences Debate</li> </ul>
	Fourth Working Session : Climate change
15:15 16:00	<ul> <li>Mr Patricio Bernal, Assistant Director-General and Executive Secretary of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO, Natural Sciences Sector Debate</li> </ul>
16:00 17:00	<ul> <li>Fifth Working Session :</li> <li>Ratification of UNESCO's Conventions in the field of Culture and normative action</li> <li>Mr Christian Manhart, Chief, Section of Museums and Cultural Objects, Culture Sector</li> <li>Office of International Standards and Legal Affairs</li> <li>Debate</li> </ul>
17:00 17:30	Adoption of the Declaration of the Conference of Parliamentarians for UNESCO
17:30 18:00	<ul> <li>Closing Ceremony</li> <li>Mr Ahmed Sayyad, Assistant Director-General for External Relations and Cooperation, Representative of the Director-General</li> <li>H. Exc. Mr Olabiyi Babalola Joseph Yaï, Chairman of the UNESCO's Executive Board</li> </ul>