

**Regional Parliamentary Conference for Education in the Asia and the Pacific** Establishment of the Forum of Asia Pacific Parliamentarians for Education (FASPPED) 24-25 October 2008, The Sultan Hotel, Jakarta, Indonesia

## • JAKARTA DECLARATION •

We, the participants representing **16 countries from the Asia and Pacific region**, meeting in Jakarta (Indonesia) from 24 to 25 October 2008 at the invitation of UNESCO,

**Acknowledging** the need for greater participation by parliamentarians in the work of the United Nations and their respective specialized agencies, thereby helping to bring those institutions closer to citizens and their representatives and vice versa;

Aware of the potential role of the Asia and Pacific Parliaments in promoting Education for All (EFA);

**Having examined** the various achievements made by UNESCO to realize basic education for all and education for sustainable development;

Welcoming UNESCO's recognition of Parliaments and their members as key partners in this action;

## Reaffirming our commitment to:

- The World Declaration on Education for All, Jomtien (1990);
- The Dakar Framework for Action and Education for All goals (2000);
- UN's Decade of Education for Sustainable Development;
- UN Millennium Development Goals;
- Other UN guiding instruments.

**Believing** that Education is the key to achievement of individual and social wellbeing and peace and that ignorance and illiteracy are obstacles to development and the construction of democratic societies;

**Convinced** that Education for All is a basic human right, and that it should be enshrined in our national constitutions as a demonstration of our commitment to the liberation of our citizens from the shackles of ignorance and illiteracy;

**Acknowledging** our singular and collective responsibility to the well being and human dignity of our citizens through quality and equitable education system, we pledge ourselves to fulfill the following goals:

- To revisit our constitutions, legal instruments, laws and regulations currently in force of our countries, so as to reinvigorate the right to basic education for all and to work toward its realization;
- **To mobilize human, material and financial** resources in order to facilitate the achieving of Education for All goals;
- To foster public and private partnerships and broad based societal support for EFA goals;

- To promote the education of girls and women in particular, in order to eliminate gender disparities and inequalities at all education levels;
- **To encourage adoption of new technologies** in education delivery and management in order to eliminate the digital and information divide;
- **To promote the ethics and values of a culture of peace**, tolerance, cultural diversity and sustainable development through education;
- **Recognize the role of teachers and educators** and encourage the development of quality teachers in order to achieve EFA goals.

In order to achieve the above mentioned goals, we, the Members of Asia Pacific Parliaments, hereby declare and pledge to do the following:

- Establish a Forum of Asia Pacific Parliamentarians for Education (FASPPED);
- Foster collective effort among Governmental organizations, non-government organizations, professionals and their associations, civil society and other institutions in the Asia Pacific region to achieve the goals of EFA;
- Endeavor to reflect the recommendations of relevant international conferences and covenants in our respective national legal instruments;
- Strive to increase the budgets and resources allocated for education in our respective countries;
- Commit to foster a culture of peace to enhance democratic values and ethics in Asia and the Pacific region.

We, the Members of the Asia Pacific Parliaments adopt the present document entitled the Declaration of Jakarta on 25 October 2008, in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Bhutan, Cambodia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Sri Lanka and Timor-Leste.