

General Conference

35th session, Paris 2009

35 C

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Organisation
des Nations Unies
pour l'éducation,

pour l'education, la science et la culture

Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación,

la Ciencia y la Cultura

Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры

> منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة

> > 联合国教育、 科学及文化组织

ted Nations cientific and -

35 C/63 8 October 2009 Original: French

Item 1.2 of the agenda

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

At its first plenary meeting, held on Tuesday 6 October 2009, the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, in accordance with Rules 26 and 32 of its Rules of Procedure, established a Credentials Committee for its 35th session, consisting of the following Member States: Algeria, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Fiji, Hungary, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).

The Credentials Committee held its first meeting at 12 noon on the same day.

The Committee elected H.E. Mr Maker Mwangu Famba, Minister of Primary, Secondary and Vocational Education and President of the National Commission of the Democratic Republic of the Congo for UNESCO, as its Chairperson.

The Committee also elected H.E. Mr Peter Landymore, Ambassador, Permanent Delegate of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to UNESCO, as its Vice-Chairperson.

At the Chairperson's request, the Legal Adviser informed the Committee of the criteria for deciding whether credentials are valid, as laid down in Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference. This Rule provides that credentials of delegates and alternates shall be issued by the head of the state, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials.

The Legal Adviser also explained the meaning and implications of the expression "provisional credentials", according to established practice at UNESCO.

The Secretariat then informed the Committee of the state of the credentials received so far by the Secretariat. The Committee concluded that the credentials of the following Member States had been issued in conformity with Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference, namely that the credentials had been issued by the head of the state, the head of the government,

the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials. The delegations of the following Member States were accordingly considered to be duly accredited:

AfghanistanGrenadaPeruAlgeriaGuatemalaPhilippinesAndorraGuyanaPortugalAustraliaHaïtiQatar

Austria Iceland Republic of Moldova

Azerbaijan India Romania

Bangladesh Indonesia Russian Federation

Barbados Ireland Rwanda
Belarus Jamaica Saint Lucia
Belize Japan Saint Vincent and the

BeninKazakhstanGrenadinesBhutanKenyaSan MarinoBolivia (Plurinational State of)KuwaitSaudi ArabiaBosnia and HerzegovinaKyrgyzstanSenegal

Botswana Lao People's Democratic Serbia Sevchelles Brazil Republic Brunei Darussalam Latvia Sierra Leone Singapore Bulgaria Lebanon Burkina Faso Slovakia Lesotho Burundi Liberia Slovenia

Canada Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Solomon Islands Cape Verde Luxembourg South Africa Chile Madagascar Spain China Malawi Sri Lanka Colombia Mali Suriname Mauritania Cuba Switzerland

Czech Republic Mexico Syrian Arab Republic

Democratic People's Republic Monaco Tajikistan

of Korea Mongolia The former Yugoslav
Democratic Republic Montenegro Republic of Macedonia

of the Congo Mozambique Timor-Leste
Denmark Myanmar Togo
Djibouti Namibia Tonga

Ecuador Nauru Trinidad and Tobago

EgyptNepalTurkeyEl SalvadorNetherlandsTurkmenistanEritreaNew ZealandUgandaEstoniaNicaraguaUkraine

Ethiopia Niger United Kingdom of Great
Fiji Norway Britain and Northern Ireland

Finland Oman Uruguay
France Pakistan Vanuatu
Gabon Palau Yemen
Georgia Panama Zambia
Germany Papua New Guinea Zimbabwe

Greece

The Committee recommends that the delegations of the above Member States be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 35th session.

The delegations of the following Member States have submitted credentials in the form of notes, letters or other documents issued by a minister other than the Minister for Foreign Affairs and not

so authorized by the latter, by the head of a diplomatic mission, by a Permanent Delegate to UNESCO or by a senior government official:

Albania Gambia Somalia
Belgium Ghana Sudan
Cambodia Iraq Swaziland
Cameroon Iran (Islamic Republic of) Tunisia
Central African Republic Italy Tuvalu

CongoJordanUnited Republic of TanzaniaCroatiaMalaysiaUnited States of America

Cyprus Nigeria Uzbekistan Dominican Republic Samoa Viet Nam

The Committee proposes that these notes, letters and other documents be accepted as the provisional credentials of the delegations of the Member States concerned, subject to later presentation of credentials in due form, and that in the meantime these delegations be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its the 35th session.

Credentials in due form have been submitted by the delegations of the Netherlands Antilles and the British Virgin Islands, Associate Members.

The Committee has also received credentials in due form for the observer delegations of Palestine and the Holy See. The Committee proposes that these credentials should also be accepted.

The delegations of the following Member States have not yet submitted credentials:

Angola Guinea Micronesia (Federated

Antigua and Barbuda Guinea-Bissau States of)
Argentina Equatorial Guinea Morocco
Armenia Honduras Niue
Bahamas Hungary Paraguay
Bahrain Israel Poland

ChadKiribatiRepublic of KoreaComorosLithuaniaSaint Kitts and NevisCook IslandsMaldivesSao Tome and Principe

Costa Rica Malta Sweden
Côte d'Ivoire Marshall Islands Thailand

Dominica Mauritius United Arab Emirates

Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic

of)

The delegations of the following Associate Members have not yet submitted credentials:

Aruba Macao, China Cayman Islands Tokelau

The following observer delegation has not yet submitted credentials:

Liechtenstein