You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 02:36:35 Dec 26, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
Inicio - Servicio de prensa
Comunicados de prensa
Anuncios de prensa
Oficinas fuera de la sede
Relaciones con la prensa

Portavoz del Director General
Flash Info
el Correo de la UNESCO
Agenda cultural
Ediciones UNESCO
Servicios de información
Documentos de la UNESCO
Naciones Unidas
- Centro de Noticias ONU
- Sitios web de la ONU

Versión para imprimir
Los medios pueden utilizar y reproducir libremente el material publicado por UNESCOPRESS

7, Place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France


Para fomentar el debate democrático  
19-08-2004 3:50 am UNESCO is calling on young researchers with advanced degrees (M.A., M.Sc. or equivalent) in developing countries to apply to the UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowship Programme for fellowships ranging from US$ 6,000 to US$ 10,000. The amount varies according to duration and place of study. The Programme is financed by Japan through its funds in trust programme for capacity-building of human resources.

The Programme is named after the late Japanese Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi, who was known for his commitment to furthering development. It grants a total of 20 fellowships a year to researchers in four areas: environment, intercultural dialogue, information and communication technologies, and peaceful conflict resolution.

UNESCO Director General Koïchiro Matsuura has written to UNESCO National Commissions, Permanent Delegations to UNESCO and to the Organization’s regional offices asking them to invite young researchers to apply for the fellowships through their country’s National Commission. The deadline for applications to arrive at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris has been set for January 14, 2005. This will be the fifth time that the fellowships are awarded since the launch of the Programme in 2001.

A maximum of two researchers, no older than 40, will be chosen by each National Commission. A selection committee made up of experts in the four study areas will then examine the applications and make preliminary recommendations to the Director-General.

Fuente Media Advisory N°2004-55


 ID: 22149 | guest (Leer) Updated: 19-08-2004 1:52 pm | © 2003 - UNESCO - Contact