You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:22:48 Dec 28, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization




  • © UNESCO
  • Amboseli Biosphere Reserve

Kenya joined UNESCO on 7 April 1964. UNESCO’s Cluster Office (to Burundi, Eritrea, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia and Uganda) in Nairobi also houses the Regional Bureau for Science in Africa.

Cooperation with Kenya extends to all UNESCO’s fields of competence. Kenya participates in EDUCAIDS, pilot project on preventive education on HIV/AIDS. In social science, the country is active in ethics of science and technology discussions. A Regional Centre for Documentation and Research on Bioethics was established at Egerton University in 2007.

Director-General Koïchiro Matsuura paid an official visit to Kenya in 2007 during a meeting of the International Bioethics Committee.

The country is currently a member of several UNESCO bodies, including the Intergovernmental Council for the Information for All Programme (IFAP), the Intergovernmental Council of the Management of Social Transformations (MOST) Programme, and the Intergovernmental Committee on World Heritage.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific