You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:22:57 Dec 28, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization



Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
  • © UNESCO
  • Archaeological Site of Leptis Magna

The Libyan Arab Jamahiriya joined UNESCO on June 27, 1953. It is covered by the UNESCO Office Rabat, a cluster office for Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia.

Education is a major field of cooperation with UNESCO, and Libyan Arab Jamahiriya has a high chance of achieving the Education For All Dakar goals by 2015, according to the EFA Global Monitoring Report (2002).

Following an agreement signed in July 2007, UNESCO’s Communication and Information Sector will implement a US$72 million project to use ICT to reform Libya’s higher education and scientific research systems.

In addition, the Avicenna Virtual Campus, an ambitious distance-learning project in science and technology education for universities mainly in the Mediterranean Basin, was extended in 2007 to include Libya.

Libya has five sites on the World Heritage List.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific