You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:24:10 Dec 28, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization



United Republic of Tanzania

United Republic of Tanzania
  • © UNESCO
  • Kilimanjaro National Park

The United Republic of Tanzania joined UNESCO on 6 March 1962. It hosts a Cluster Office in Dar es Salaam (covering Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, the Seychelles and Tanzania).

Tanzania works with UNESCO in all its fields of competence. In education, Tanzania participates in the Teacher Training Initiative for sub-Saharan Africa (TTISSA). A joint UN programme to develop an Education Sector-wide Management Information System (ESMIS) was launched in 2007. Recently, UNESCO has supported the review of Tanzania’s National Science, Technology and Innovation System.

Tanzania’s President Jakaya Kikwete made an official visit to UNESCO on 22 October 2007.

Several Tanzanian cultural and natural sites are inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Cultural sites include the stone town of Zanzibar and natural sites the famous Serengeti and Kilimanjaro National Parks. Tanzania also participates in the Slave Route Project, documenting the history of the slave trade.

Tanzania initiated the UNESCO Resolution proclaiming 2008 the International Year of Planet Earth.


Tanzania-UNESCO Country Programming
Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific