You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:25:18 Dec 28, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization



Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • © UNESCO
  • The Yaksuri Tomb

The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea joined UNESCO on October 18, 1974. The country is covered by the UNESCO Beijing Cluster Office.

UNESCO and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea have worked together to preserve cultural heritage sites since the 1980s. The “Preservation of the Yaksuri Koguryo Mural Tomb” project, launched in 2000, marks the first Republic of Korea/UNESCO Funds-in trust project for cultural preservation. Activities include training of national specialists and support to the Korean Cultural Preservation Center. In 2004, the Complex of Koguryo Tombs (many of which have magnificent mural paintings) was inscribed on the World Heritage List.

The DPRK has two Biosphere Reserves, Mount Kuwol and Mount Paekdu.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific