You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:17:13 Dec 28, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization




Introduction to UNESCO in the Pacific

  • © UNESCO/ Office for the Pacific States
  • UNESCO (Apia) Planning Retreat - 2006

What is UNESCO and where does the Cluster Office for the Pacific States operate?

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was founded in 1946 in the aftermath of World War II as a global institution to build peace through promoting education, the sciences and culture. UNESCO is working to create the conditions for genuine dialogue based upon respect for shared values and the dignity of each civilization and culture.

As an agency of the United Nations, UNESCO is governed by its own General Conference of delegates from each of its 193 Member States (and the six Associate Members). The General Conference meets every second year at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris and sets the strategic agenda for all UNESCO activities.

The UNESCO Cluster Office for the Pacific States based in Apia, Samoa, covers 16 independent countries and one territory in the Pacific, in consultation of which it sets its local programme in line with the Organization's global priorities.

UNESCO’s Mission

Sustainable human development through promoting quality and equitable education and lifelong learning, strengthening indigenous knowledge and systems, fostering quality information for all and promoting scientific knowledge.

UNESCO Goals in the Pacific region

UNESCO will contribute to the construction of peace, human development and intercultural dialogue for a sustainable Pacific through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information.

For the period 2008 – 2013, UNESCO’s programmes in the Pacific will have an overarching focus on:

  • Quality Education for All
    Sustainable Management of Natural Resources in SIDS

  • Science Communication

  • Disaster Management Preparedness

  • Social Change Management incorporating Pacific Values

  • Quality Information and Infostructures

  • Promotion and Preservation of Cultural Diversity

  • UNESCO’s activities will focus on working with governments to improve policy and management; working with civil society including the private sector to strengthen their role in policy development and programme delivery; and developing partnerships with other UN agencies, Council of Regional Organizations of the Pacific agencies and others working to promote sustainable development and achieve the Millennium Development Goals.

    Working with the other 15 UN agencies based in the Pacific, regional agencies, member country governments and civil society, UNESCO is reorienting its programmes to complement and coordinate with the priorities of the Pacific Plan and Pacific Governments.

    UNESCO will work with the other UN agencies to deliver a coordinated package of activities under the Pacific Development Assistance Framework 2008-2012. This will include joint delivery of programmes and cooperative approaches with other UN agencies, as well as regional organizations and civil society and the private sector.

    Likely joint programmes will focus on youth, achieving the Millennium Development Goals, strengthening civil society, HIV/AIDS and environmental management.

    The UNESCO Cluster Office in Apia has also developed stronger intersectoral approaches through its own programmatic approach. This approach will be spear-headed by the Our Pacific Heritage flagship for UNESCO Education for Sustainable Development activities, initially established in 2007 but running through 2008 and onwards.

    A number of additional UNESCO programmes will increasingly have a stronger focus on intersectorality under UNESCO’s Mid-term Strategy for 2008-2013.

    Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific