You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:03:03 Dec 29, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization


Natural Sciences

Asia & the Pacific


  • UNESCO/A. Rossi

The country is covered by the UNESCO Office in Apia, Samoa.

The country, consisting of 3 main archipelagos and one island in the Pacific Ocean is composed largely of low-lying coral atolls surrounded by extensive reefs.

Marine ecosystems are a central part of life for the 21 islands that are inhabited. With climate change and the related sea level change becoming an increasingly important threat, Kiribati is actively involved in the protection of ocean systems.


- Pacific Islands Global Ocean Observing System (PI-GOOS)


UNESCO Director-General in Kiribati (February 2008)

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific