

Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture

Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación, la Ciencia y la Cultura

Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры

. منظمة الأمم المتحدة . للتربية والعلم والثقافة

联合国教育、・ 科学及文化组织 .

Distribution: Limited

First Session Paris, UNESCO Headquarters, Room IV 5-7 February 2007

Conference of Parties to the International Convention against Doping in Sport

> ICDS/1CP/Doc. 1 1 December 2006 Original: English

Item 1.2 of the Provisional Agenda

Election of a Chairperson, Vice-Chairpersons and Rapporteur

Decision Required: Paragraph 3

- 1. As foreseen in Rule 4 of the Provisional Rules of Procedure for the Conference of Parties, which are proposed for adoption by the Conference of Parties under Item 3 of the Provisional Agenda, the Conference of Parties shall elect a Chairperson, one or more Vice-Chairpersons and a Rapporteur. The Conference of Parties might wish to consider electing six officers in total, one from each of the electoral groups as established by the General Conference of UNESCO (herewith attached as Annex 1).
- 2. The terms of office of the Chairperson, the Vice-Chairpersons and the Rapporteur will be from the opening of the current session until the opening of the next ordinary session of the Conference of Parties when a new Chairperson, Vice-Chairpersons and a Rapporteur will be elected.

DRAFT RESOLUTION 1CP/1.2

3. The Conference of Parties may wish to adopt the following resolutions:

The Conference of Parties,

- 1. *Elects* [Name and State Party] as Chairperson of the Conference of Parties,
- 2. Elects [Name and State Party] as Rapporteur of the Conference of Parties,
- 3. *Elects* [State Party] [State Party] [State Party] as Vice-Chairpersons of the Conference of Parties.

ANNEX 1

Groupings of Member States for the Purpose of Elections to the Executive Board

Group I

Andorra Iceland San Marino Austria Ireland Spain Belgium Israel Sweden Canada Switzerland Italy Cyprus Luxembourg Turkey

Denmark United Kingdom of Great Malta Finland Britain and Northern Monaco

France Netherlands Ireland

Germany Norway United States of America

Greece Portugal

Group II

Slovakia Albania Georgia Armenia Hungary Slovenia Azerbaijan Latvia Tajikistan

Lithuania The former Yugoslav **Belarus**

Bosnia and Herzegovina Poland Republic

Republic of Moldova of Macedonia Bulgaria

Croatia Romania

Ukraine Czech Republic Russian Federation Uzbekistan

Estonia Serbia

Group III

Antigua and Barbuda Dominican Republic Paraguay Ecuador Peru Argentina

El Salvador Saint Kitts and Nevis **Bahamas**

Barbados Grenada Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Belize Guatemala

Bolivia Guyana Grenadines Suriname Brazil Haiti

Chile Honduras Trinidad and Tobago

Colombia Jamaica Uruguay Venezuela Costa Rica Mexico

Cuba Nicaragua Dominica Panama

ICDS/1CP/Doc. 1 Annex 1 – page 2

Group IV

Afghanistan Australia Bangladesh Bhutan

Brunei Darussalam Cambodia China

Cook Islands Democratic People's

Republic of Korea Fiji India Indonesia

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Japan Kazakhstan Kiribati Kyrgystan

Lao People's Democratic

Republic Malaysia Maldives

Marshall Islands Micronesia (Federated

States of) Mongolia Myanmar Nauru Nepal

New Zealand

Niue Pakistan

Guinea

Kenva

Liberia

Malawi

Mali

Lesotho

Madagascar

Mauritania

Mozambique

Mauritius

Namibia

Niger

Nigeria

Guinea-Bissau

Palau

Papua New Guinea

Philippines

Republic of Korea

Samoa

Solomon Islands

Sri Lanka Thailand Timor-Leste Tonga

Turkmenistan

Tuvalu Vanuatu Viet Nam

Group V

(a)

Angola Benin Botswana

Burkina Faso Burundi Cameroon Cape Verde

Central African Republic Chad

Comoros Congo Côte d'Ivoire Diibouti

Democratic Republic of

Congo

Equatorial Guinea

Eritrea Ethiopia Gabon Rwanda

Gambia Sao Tome and Principe Ghana Senegal

Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa Sudan Swaziland Togo

Uganda
United Republic of

Tanzania Zambia Zimbabwe

(b)

Algeria Bahrain

Egypt Iraq Jordan Kuwait Lebanon

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Morocco Oman Qatar

Saudi Arabia

Syrian Arab Republic

Tunisia

United Arab Emirates

Yemen