You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 00:32:53 Dec 30, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
  UNESCO.ORG The Organization Education Natural Sciences Social & Human Sciences Culture Communication & Information

Social scientist Atilio Alberto Borón (Argentina) wins UNESCO International José Martí Prize
Koïchiro Matsuura, the Director-General of UNESCO, has awarded the 2009 UNESCO International José Martí Prize to Atilio Alberto Borón, former Executive Secretary of the Latin American and Caribbean Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO). The Prize will be presented during a ceremony in Havana (Cuba) on 17 July.
The José Martí Prize was conferred upon Atilio Alberto Borón to reward his tireless intellectual commitment to the unity and integration of countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as his contribution to the study and promotion of José Marti’s thinking.

Atilio Alberto Borón is professor of political theory at the Facultad de Ciencias Social at the University of Buenos Aires and a researcher at the Consejo nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET). He runs the Programa Latinoamericano de Educación a Distancia en Ciencias Social (PLED) at the Centro Cultural de la Cooperación Floreal Gorini. He is also a member of the Scientific Committee of the Comparative Research Programme on Poverty (CROP), based in Bergen (Norway).

The International José Martí Prize was created by the Executive Board in 1994 on the initiative of Cuba, to reward an individual, institution, other entity or non-governmental organization that has contributed to the unity and integration of countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as to the preservation of their identities, cultural traditions and historical values.

The Prize, with a value of US$5,000, is awarded following the recommendations of an international jury. After the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico and Venezuela, Argentina is the fifth Latin American country to have one of its nationals receive the José Martí Prize. 

Author(s) UNESCOPRESS - Press Release N°2009-45
Publication Date 20-05-2009

  Email this page     Printable version

  Email this page
 Printable version