You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 02:41:41 Dec 30, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
  UNESCO.ORG The Organization Education Natural Sciences Social & Human Sciences Culture Communication & Information

COMEST Members  
COMEST Members
Khalid Abdullah Alali, Qatar
Director of the Foundation Unit, University of Qatar. Training in the field of human genetics and molecular biology. Member of the Board of the Regent, The Arabian Gulf University.

Ruben Apressyan, Russian Federation
Head of the Sector of Ethics of the Institute of Philosophy, Russian Academy of Sciences and a half-time Professor at the Faculty of Philosophy of Moscow Lomonosov State University.

Somsak Chunharas, Thailand
Medical Doctor, Secretary-General of Thai National Health Foundation and Director of the Thai Programme on Bioethics and Advanced Medical Research.

Tan Sri Datuk Dr Haji Omar Abdul Rahman, Malaysia

Rajaona Andriamananjara, Madagascar
President of Madagascar’s National Academy of Arts, Letters and Sciences

Philippe Busquin, Belgium
Member of the European Parliament

Susana Elena Sommer, Argentina

Robert P. George, USA

Hwan-suk Kim, Republic of Korea

Hebe María Cristina Vessuri, Venezuela

Jun Fudano, Japan
Director of the Applied Ethics Center for Engineering and Science at Kanazawa Institute of Technology (KIT). Professor of the History of Science and Technology and of Science and Engineering Ethics at KIT.

Johan Hattingh, South Africa
Chair of the Department of Philosophy at the University of Stellenbosch. Visiting Professor at the University of the North (South Africa), teaching in the area of Development Ethics.

Tafeeda Jarbawi, Palestine
Dean of Women's Community College and Director of Ramallah Women's College. Her nomination was conveyed by the Palestinian National Authority.

Marta Kollárová, Slovak Republic
Vice-rector for science and research, Comenius University, head of the Slovak National Bioethics Commission of UNESCO.

Ulrich Heinz Jurgen Körtner , Austria
Doctor in Theology, professor at the University of Vienna and head of the Institute of Ethics and Law in Medicine, member of the Bioethics Commission of the Federal Chancellor of Austria.

Alain Pompidou, France
Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Cochin - Port-Royal. Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts. Member of the Economic and Social Council, Paris. Member of the Academy of Technology. He is currently President of the European Patent Office.

Nadja Tollemache, New Zealand
Former Council Member of the Auckland University of Technology (formerly Auckland Institute of Technology) and Ethics Committee. Chair of the Health Research Council of New Zealand Ethics Committee.

Xu Zhihong, China
Professor of Life Sciences, Mr. Xu is also president of Peking University and member of the Chinese Academy of Science and of the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS).

Former Members of the Commission

Midge Decter, United States of America
Author and editor. Member of the board of trustees of the Heritage Foundation, the board of Security Policy, Institute on Religion and Public Life, Philadelphia Society and is chairperson of the Clare Booth Luce Fundation.

Pilar Armanet Armanet, Chile
Journalist. Director of Higher Education, Ministry of Education. Former President of the National Council for Television. Professor of International Relations at the University of Chile.

Cheick Modibo Diarra, Mali
Aeronautical engineer. Director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory of NASA.

Leila Seth, India
Jurist. The first woman to be appointed as a Judge of the Delhi High Court. Chairperson of the Multiple Action Research Group and of the Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative and Member of the Population Foundation of India.

Song Sang-yong, Republic of Korea
Former President of the Korean Bioethics Association and Vice-President of the Asian Bioethics Association since 2002. Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, Hanyang University.

Luiz Hildebrando Pereira da Silva, Brazil
Visiting scientist at the CNPq- Centro de Pesquisa em Medicina Tropical, Porto Velho, Rondônia, Brazil.

Diego Gracia, Spain
Director of the Institute of Bioethics of the Foundation for the Health Sciences in Madrid. Appointed Member of the Royal National Academy of Medicine of Spain. Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine of Chile.

Mohamed Bennouna, Morocco
Jurist. Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of Morocco to the United Nations.

Hubert Curien, France

Jens Erik Fenstad, Norway
Professor of Mathematical Logic at the University of Oslo and Member of the NATO Science Committee, Mr Fenstad is former President of the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science, and former Chairman of the Standing Committee for the Physical and Engineering Sciences of the European Science Foundation.

Vigdís Finnbogadottir, Iceland

Ágnes Heller, Hungary

Sergey Petrovich Kapitza, Russian Federation

James Peter Kimmins, Canada
Professor of Forest Ecology at the University of British Columbia.

Pavel Kratochvil, Czech Republic
Professor of Macromolecular Chemistry at the Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic.

Lu Yongxiang, China
Professor of Engineering Sciences and President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Wataru Mori, Japan

Jaroslova Moserová, Czech Republic

Suzanne Mubarak, Egypt
Educational sociologist. First Lady of Egypt and founder and Chairperson of the Egyptian Society for Childhood and Development.

Yoichiro Paul Murakami, Japan

Barry Ninham, Australia

Thomas R. Odhiambo, Kenya

José Sarukhán, Mexico

Dagmar Schipanski, Germany

Lord Selborne, John Roundell Palmer, United Kingdom

Ex-officio Members of the Commission
Adolfo Martinez Palomo
International Bioethics Committee of UNESCO (IBC)

Intergovernmental Bioethics Committee (IGBC)

Catherine Bréchignac
International Council for Science (ICSU)

Adama Samassekou
International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies (ICPHS)

Gudmund Hernes
International Social Science Council (ISSC)

Jayantha Dhanapala
Chairperson - Pugwash Conference on Science and World Affairs

Javier Valladares
Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC)

Henri Djombo
Programme on Man and the Biosphere (MAB)

H.E. Dr Zola Sydney Skweyiya
Management of Social Transformations Programme (MOST)

Abdin Mohd Ali Salih
International Hydrological Programme (IHP) - Intergovernmental Council

Vivi Vajda
International Geoscience Programme (IGCP)

  Email this page     Printable version

  Email this page
 Printable version
Bureau of COMEST
COMEST Members
Rules of Procedure [PDF]
COMEST Sessions
Evaluation of the impact of COMEST (169 EX/15)
Evaluation of the impact of COMEST (169 EX Decision 3.6.1)
Who's who?