You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 04:11:29 Dec 30, 2015, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
  UNESCO.ORG The Organization Education Natural Sciences Social & Human Sciences Culture Communication & Information

The International José Martí Prize was awarded:
  • 2005 to H.E. Mr Hugo Rafael Chávez Frías, President of Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

  • 2003 to Pablo Gonzalez Casanova

  • 1999 to Oswaldo Guayasamín (Posthumous laureate), Milagros Palma Guzmán and Georges Anglade (Honourable mentions)

  • 1995 to Celsa Albert Batista, Vice-Rector of the Catholic University of Santo Domingo and Director-General for Culture of the Secretariat of State for Education and Culture, is a historian specializing in Latin American studies. She acts as a consultant to various educational and cultural associations and is a member of the Dominican Republic Commission for the UNESCO international "Slave Route" project. She has published a large number of research papers.

  Social scientist Atilio Alberto Borón (Argentina) wins UNESCO International José Martí Prize   Social scientist Atilio Alberto Borón (Argentina) wins UNESCO International José Martí Prize
20-05-2009 (UNESCOPRESS) - Koïchiro Matsuura, the Director-General of UNESCO, has awarded the 2009 UNESCO International José Martí Prize to Atilio Alberto Borón, former Executive Secretary of the Latin American and Caribbean Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO). The Prize will be presented during a ceremony in Havana (Cuba) on 17 July.  More...


  Email this page     Printable version

  Email this page
 Printable version