You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:36:10 Jan 24, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
Print this page
Intergovernmental Bioethics Committee (IGBC)
The IGBC was created in 1998, under Article 11 of the Statutes of the International Bioethics Committee (IBC). It is comprised of 36 Member States whose representatives meet at least once every two years to examine the advice and recommendations of the IBC. It informs the IBC of its opinions and submits these opinions along with proposals for follow-up of the IBC's work to UNESCO's Director-General for transmission to Member States, the Executive Board and the General Conference.

What States are members of the IGBC?

BrazilIndonesia**Republic of Korea**
ChileIran (Islamic Republic of)**Romania
Colombia**Jamaica**Russian Federation**
Côte d'IvoireJapanSaudi Arabia**
Democratic People's Republic of Korea**KenyaSerbia
Dominican Republic**Madagascar**Syrian Arab Republic**
GermanyNigeriaUnited States of America**

** States elected at the 34th session of the General Conference; members of the IGBC until the end of the 36th session (Autumn 2011)

The other States remain members until the end of the 37th session (Autumn 2013).

How are the IGBC members chosen?

The 36 Member States are elected by UNESCO's General Conference taking into account cultural diversity and balanced geographical representation. Members serve for terms of about four years, from the end of the ordinary session of the General Conference in which they are elected until the end of the second subsequent ordinary session.

Who can participate in IGBC sessions?

Have feedback? Email the SHS Webmaster