You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 16:10:30 Jan 24, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
Print this page
Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

most.gif The Scientific Advisory Committee (formerly “Scientific Steering Committee”) is made up of 6 experts, one for each region, and the Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Council (IGC) who attends in an ex officio capacity.

In order to follow the new direction the MOST Programme has taken, the SAC, in cooperation with the Intergovernmental Council Bureau, guides the Secretariat with regard to the quality and relevance of MOST projects. The expertise of researchers and other involved actors is subject to approval by the IGC Bureau.

The SAC functions as a permanent committee. Its specific role is related to programme conceptualization, strategy development and scientific advisory research regarding MOST projects.

The MOST Programme’s last IGC Bureau meeting, held from 1 to 2 October 2008, appointed the new members of the Scientific Advisory Committee:

Latin America and the Caribbean
Professor Lourdes Sola
(Curriculum Vitae)
Department of Political Science and Center for Public Policy Research
University of São Paulo
São Paulo, Brazil

North America and Western Europe
Professor Luk van Langenhove
(Curriculum Vitae)
Director, Centre for Comparative Regional Integration Studies, United Nations University (UNU–CRIS)
Brugge, Belgium

Central and Eastern Europe
PhDr. Zdenka Mansfeldová
(Curriculum Vitae)
Deputy Director
Institute of Sociology
Prague, Czech Republic

Asia and the Pacific
Professor Masanori Naito
(Curriculum Vitae)
Institute for the Study of Global Issues, Hitotsubashi University
Tokyo, Japan

Arab States
Professor Nazli Choucri (Ms)
(Curriculum Vitae)
Department of Political Science, Massachussetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Cambridge, USA

Professor Charly Gabriel Mbock
(Curriculum Vitae)
Director of Research, Ministry of Scientific and Technical Research
Yaoundé, Cameroun

Ex-Officio member, SAC:
H.E. Dr. Zola S. Skweyiya
President, MOST Intergovernmental Council
Minister of Social Development,
Pretoria, South Africa

The first joint SAC/IGC Bureau meeting was held from 2 to 5 July 2004 at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.

The Committee unanimously elected Professor Nazli Choucri (Egypt, Director of the Political Sciences programme, MIT, Cambridge, Boston, USA) as Chairperson of the SAC.

The MOST Programme’s second joint SAC/IGC Bureau Meeting took place during the 33rd session of the General Conference on 19 October 2005.

See also: The Statutes of the Intergovernmental Council and the Scientific Advisory Committee
English | Fançais | Español

MOST Offical Documents

Composition of:

Have feedback? Email the SHS Webmaster