You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 20:54:29 Aug 02, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Middle East and North Africa Scholarship Programme (MSP)

Are you a professional from the Middle East and North Africa, working in the water sector? Apply now for a MSP scholarship for one of 16 Short Courses at the world's largest water education facility; UNESCO-IHE.

The Middle East and North Africa (MENA) Scholarship Programme (or MSP) offers scholarships for short courses in the Netherlands to professionals from eight MENA countries. The programme is funded by the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The overall aim of the MSP is to contribute to the democratic transition in the participating countries. It also aims at building capacity within organisations by enabling employees to take part in short courses in various fields of study.

For whom?

The target group is professionals (with a maximum age of 45) who are nationals of and working in one of the following countries: Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia.

While scholarships are awarded to individuals, the need for training must be demonstrated in the context of the organisation for which the applicant works. The training must help the organisation develop its capacity. This means that employers must nominate an applicant and motivate his or her application in a supporting letter.

To be eligible for an MSP scholarship you:

  • must be a national of, and working and living in one of the countries on the MSP country list valid at the time of application;
  • must have an employer’s statement that complies with the format Nuffic has provided. All information must be provided and all commitments that are included in the format must be endorsed in the statement;
  • must not be employed by an organisation that has its own means of staff-development. Organisations that are considered to have their own means for staff development are for example:
    • multinational corporations (e.g. Shell, Unilever, Microsoft),
    • large national and/or a large commercial organisations,
    • bilateral donor organisations (e.g. USAID, DFID, Danida, Sida, Dutch ministry of Foreign affairs, FinAid, AusAid, ADC, SwissAid),
    • multilateral donor organisations, (e.g. a UN organization, the World Bank, the IMF, Asian Development Bank, African Development Bank, IADB),
    • international NGO’s (e.g. Oxfam, Plan, Care);
  • must have an official and valid passport (valid at least three months after the candidate's submission date);
  • must have a government  statement that meets the requirements of the country in which the employer is established (if applicable, see list of countries for which a statement is required, please note that in some cases this process might take two to four weeks);
  • must not be over 45 years of age at the time of the grant submission.


Please be attentive to the fact that you can apply for a scholarship for only one course or programme per deadline. Being admitted to more than one programme does not mean that you can apply for more than one scholarship. You will have to select one short course before applying for a scholarship.


The following short courses are eligible:

How to apply?

  1. Check whether you are in the abovementioned target groups
  2. Check whether your employer will nominate you
  3. Arrange all required documents such as the employer statement and government statement (of required), and please note that in some cases this process might take two to four weeks
  4. Select one of the abovementioned Short Courses
  5. Apply online at the webpage of the Short Course of your choice before 16 March 2016 - 23.59 (CET). 
  6. After receiving your application, UNESCO-IHE will further instruct you on how to proceed with applying for MSP