You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:57:13 Aug 07, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

Turkish National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameTurkish National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale de la Turquie pour l'UNESCO

Reşit Galip Cad. Hereke Sok. No :10
G.O.P. Ankara

Phone(+ 90.312) 426 58 94/118 (SG) /119 and /120 (Assistant SG)
Fax(+ 90.312) 427 20 64
E-mailwebmaster@unesco.org.tr; ocal@bilkent.edu.tr (PT); semadincer@unesco.org.tr (SG); iremalpaslan@unesco.org.tr (Assistant SG); suleurun@unesco.org.tr (Assistant SG)
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.org.tr
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameProf. Dr. M. Öcal Oğuz
StartedSeptember 2011

NameAmbassador Mr. Hüsnü Gürcan Türkoğlu
TitleVice President
StartedMay 2014

NameAssist. Prof. Dr. M. Akif Kireçci
TitleVice President
StartedMay 2014

NameMs Sema Dinçer
StartedDecember 2012

NameMs İrem Alpaslan
TitleAssistant Secretary-General (responsible for international affairs)
StartedJune 2012

NameMs Şule Ürün
TitleAssistant Secretary-General (responsible for internal affairs)
StartedDecember 2012

Date and Method of Creation25 August 1949
Department attached tounder the supervision of the Ministry of Education
LegislationThe present Statutes of the National Commission date back to 1985.
Documentation CentreThe National Commission has a well-furnished Documentation Centre. It holds approximately 8 000 publications such as periodicals, proceedings, books, reviews, journals, normative materials and multimedia.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
· The General Assembly.
· The Executive Board
· The Secretariat
16 Programme Committees
Members/CompositionThe General Assembly of the National Commission is composed of some 80 members
Executive CommitteeComposed of 15 members elected by the General Assembly, including the representatives of relevant ministries (the Ministry of National Education, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Culture and Tourism, the Ministry of Finance, and the Ministry of Environment and Forestry), universities, as well as eminent personalities. They all serve on an honorary basis. The Executive Board meets once a month.
General AssemblyComposed of 80 members (mainly institutional members) , representing various ministries and governmental departments, institutions, universities, agencies and non-governmental organizations specializing in the fields of UNESCO’s competence as well as individuals appointed for a period of four years. The General Assembly meets in plenary every two years.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesEighteen Programmme Committees: 1) Education; 2) Physical Education and Sport 3) Communication and Information; 4) Tangible Cultural Heritage; 5) Intangible Cultural Heritage; 6) Cultural Expressions 7)Bioethics 8)Philosophy 9)Human Rights 10)Women 11)Intercultural Dialogue 12) Man and the Biosphere 13)Management of Social Transformations 14)Illıcit Trafficking of Cultural Heritage 15)Normative Instruments 16)Underwater Heritage 17)Basic Sciences 18)Memory of the World
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees18
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
[X] Women
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission cooperates with a number of European (Bulgaria, France, Former Yougoslav Republic of Macedonia, Germany, Georgia, Iran, Israel, Romania etc.) and Central Asian National Commissions. It has established good working relations with the UNESCO Office in Venice.