You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 21:32:08 Aug 12, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
  UNESCO.ORGThe OrganizationEducationNatural SciencesSocial & Human SciencesCultureCommunication & InformationSitemap
Home HOME Print Print Email page
Social Human Sciences & Human Rights
Communication & Information
Natural Sciences
Special interests
Gender Mainstreaming Tools
Gender Equality, HIV & AIDS
Gender training
Statistics & Indicators
International Women’s Day

2 - 3 March 2005 - L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science
International jury to award five outstanding women researchers, in condensed matter sciences (physics and chemistry), one from each continent.
International jury to award five outstanding women researchers, in condensed matter sciences (physics and chemistry), one from each continent.

The 2005 L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science ceremony will take place on 3rd March at UNESCO Headquarters (Room 1), Paris in the presence of Lindsay Owen-Jones, Chairman & CEO of L'Oréal and Koïchiro Matsuura, Director-General of UNESCO. Professor Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, 1991 Nobel Prize winner in Physics and President of the Award's international jury, will present the scientific achievements of the five award winners. The founding President of the L'Oreal-UNESCO Awards, Professor Christian de Duve, 1974 Nobel Prize winner in Medicine also serves on this the Jury.

Following an agreement between L'Oréal and UNESCO, signed on 29 September 1999, a prize of 100 000 dollars each is given annually to five outstanding women researchers, one from each continent. Subsequently enhanced the award has been extended to include an allocation of 20 000 dollars, for fifteen young doctoral or post-doctoral students, three from each continent to help them continue their research projects in an institution outside their country of origin, research often oriented towards local issues. An independent jury selects and awards the prizes.


2 March - Round Table: "The Role of Mentoring and Science Networks". Room XI, 9h30 to noon. Event organized in partnership with L'OREAL and The Media Science Next Wave.More

2 March - Presentation of the work of the UNESCO-L'OREAL fellowship-winners. Room XI, 4 to 6pm.

2 March - UNESCO/L'OREAL 2005 Fellowship Award Ceremony, by Mr Erdelen, Assistant Director-General of UNESCO for the Natural Sciences and Ms Béatrice Dautresme, l'OREAL Vice-President, General Director of Communications and External Relations. Restaurant, 7th floor Fontenoy Building, 6 to 7pm

3 March - UNESCO/L'OREAL 2005 Prize-Giving Ceremony by Mr Koïchiro Matsuura, Directeur-General of UNESCO and Mr Lindsay Owen-Jones, President Directeur General of L'OREAL, and the participation of Professeur Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, Nobel Prize for physics 1991. Room I, 4:30 to 7:30pm

L'Oréal / UNESCO partnership website
UNESCO promotes women’s access to science and technology






Who's who?


Disclaimer - Privacy Policy - guest (Read) - ID: 25602