

33 C/87 4 October 2005 Original: French

Item 1.2 of the provisional agenda

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

At its first plenary meeting, held on Monday, 3 October 2005, the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, in accordance with Rules 26 and 32 of its Rules of Procedure, set up a Credentials Committee for its 33rd session, consisting of the following Member States: Belgium, El Salvador, Haiti, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lithuania, Qatar, Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro and South Africa.

The Credentials Committee held its first meeting at 12 noon on the same day.

The Committee elected H.E. Mr Dragoljub Najman, Ambassador, Permanent Delegate of Serbia and Montenegro to UNESCO, as its Chairperson.

At the Chairperson's request, the Legal Adviser informed the Committee of the criteria for deciding whether credentials are valid, as laid down in Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference. This Rule provides that credentials of delegates and alternates shall be issued by the head of the State, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials.

The Legal Adviser also explained the meaning and implications of the expression "provisional credentials", as used by the Secretariat.

The Secretariat then informed the Committee of the state of the credentials received so far by the Secretariat. The Committee concluded that the credentials of the following Member States had been issued in conformity with Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference, namely that the credentials had been issued by the head of the State, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials. The delegations of the following Member States were accordingly considered to be duly accredited:

Afghanistan Greece **Philippines** Andorra Grenada Poland Australia Guyana Portugal **Iceland** Oatar Austria

Republic of Korea Azerbaijan India Bahamas Indonesia Republic of Moldova

Bahrain Iran (Islamic Republic of) Romania

Russian Federation Bangladesh Iraq Ireland **Barbados** Saint Kitts and Nevis Israel Belarus Saint Lucia

Italy

Saint Vincent and the Belgium Belize Japan Grenadines

Benin Jordan Samoa Bhutan Kazakhstan San Marino **Bolivia** Kenya Saudi Arabia Bosnia and Herzegovina Kuwait Senegal

Lao People's Democratic Serbia and Montenegro Botswana

Republic Seychelles Brazil Latvia Slovakia Brunei Darussalam

Bulgaria Lebanon Solomon Islands Burkina Faso Lesotho South Africa Burundi Lithuania Spain Sri Lanka Cambodia Luxembourg Madagascar Suriname Cameroon Canada Malaysia Swaziland

Central African Republic Malawi Sweden Maldives Switzerland China

Colombia Mali Syrian Arab Republic

Congo Mauritania Tajikistan

The former Yugoslav Costa Rica Mexico Republic of Macedonia Cuba Monaco

Cyprus Mongolia Togo Czech Republic Mozambique Tonga

Democratic People's Myanmar Trinidad and Tobago

Republic of Korea Namibia Tunisia Denmark Nauru Turkey Nepal Turkmenistan Egypt

Equatorial Guinea New Zealand Tuvalu Nicaragua Uganda Eritrea United Republic Estonia Niger

Ethiopia Norway of Tanzania Oman Vanuatu Fiji Finland Pakistan Venezuela France Palau Viet Nam Gabon Panama Yemen Gambia Zambia

Papua New Guinea Georgia Paraguay Zimbabwe

People's Democratic Germany Republic of Korea Ghana

The Committee recommends that the delegations of the above Member States be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 33rd session.

The delegations of the following Member States have submitted credentials in the form of notes, letters or other documents issued by a minister other than the Minister for Foreign Affairs and not so authorized by the latter, by the head of a diplomatic mission, by a Permanent Delegate to UNESCO or by a senior government official:

Albania El Salvador Peru Algeria Guatemala Rwanda

Angola Guinea Sao Tome and Principe

Guinea-Bissau Argentina Sierra Leone Armenia Slovenia Haiti Cape Verde Somalia Honduras Sudan Chad Hungary Chile Jamaica Thailand Côte d'Ivoire Kiribati Ukraine

Croatia Liberia United Arab Emirates

Democratic Republic Libyan Arab Jamahiriya United Kingdom of Great
of the Congo Mauritius Britain and Northern Ireland
Djibouti Morocco United States of America

Dominican Republic Netherlands Uruguay
Ecuador Nigeria Uzbekistan

The Committee proposes that these notes, letters and other documents be accepted as the provisional credentials of the delegations of the Member States concerned, subject to later presentation of valid credentials, and that in the meantime these delegations be allowed to take part in the work of the 33rd session of the General Conference.

Valid credentials have been submitted by the delegations of the Netherlands Antilles and the British Virgin Islands, Associate Members.

The Committee has also received valid credentials for the observer delegations of the Holy See and Singapore, and provisional credentials for the delegation of Palestine, Observer. The Committee proposes that these credentials should also be accepted.

The delegations of the following Member States have not yet submitted credentials:

Antigua and Barbuda Malta

Comoros (Union of the)

Marshall Islands

Cook Islands Micronesia (Federated States of)

Dominica Niue

Kyrgyzstan Timor-Leste

The delegations of the following Associate Members have not yet submitted credentials:

Aruba

Cayman Islands Macao (China)

Tokelau

The following observer delegation has not yet submitted credentials:

Liechtenstein