	General Conference 34th session, Paris 2007	Генеральная конференция 34-я сессия, Париж 2007 г.	34 C
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization	Conférence générale 34 ^e session, Paris 2007	المؤتمر العام الدورة الرابعة والثلاثون، باريس ۲۰۰۷	
Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture	Conferencia General 34 ^a reunión, París 2007	大会 第三十四届会议,巴黎,2007	
Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación, la Ciencia y la Cultura	•		
Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры			34 C/65 18 October 2007 Original: English
ً منظمة الأمم المتحدة . للتربية والعلم والثقافة			
联合国教育、· 科学及文化组织 ,	Item 1.2 of the provisiona	al agenda	

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

At its first plenary meeting, held on Tuesday 16 October 2007, the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, in accordance with Rules 26 and 32 of its Rules of Procedure, established a Credentials Committee for its 34th session, consisting of the following Member States: Barbados, El Salvador, Kenya, Kuwait, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Samoa and Slovakia.

The Credentials Committee held its first meeting at 12 noon on the same day.

The Committee elected H.E. Ms Ina Marčiulionytė, Ambassador and Permanent Delegate of Lithuania to UNESCO, as its Chairperson.

At the Chairperson's request, the Legal Adviser informed the Committee of the criteria for deciding whether credentials were in due form, as laid down in Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference. This Rule provides that credentials of delegates and alternates shall be issued by the head of the State, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials.

The Legal Adviser also explained the meaning and implications of the expression "provisional credentials", as used by the Secretariat.

The Secretariat then informed the Committee of the state of the credentials received so far by the Secretariat. The Committee concluded that the credentials of the following Member States had been issued in conformity with Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference, namely that the credentials had been issued by the head of the State, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials. The delegations of the following Member States were accordingly considered to be duly accredited:

Afghanistan	Austria
Albania	Azerbaijan
Algeria	Bahamas
Andorra	Bangladesh
Angola	Barbados
Argentina	Belarus
Armenia	Belgium
Australia	Belize

Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde **Central African Republic** Chile China Colombia Comoros Cook Islands Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus **Czech Republic** Democratic People's Republic of Korea Denmark Diibouti **Dominican Republic** Ecuador Eavpt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Fiii Finland France Gabon Georgia Germany Ghana Greece Guinea Guyana Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq Israel Japan Jordan

Kazakhstan Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Lithuania Luxemboura Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Mauritius Mexico Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Mvanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Oman Pakistan Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Portugal Qatar Republic of Korea Republic of Moldova Romania Russian Federation

Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia **Seychelles** Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands South Africa Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Tajikistan Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Republic of Tanzania United States of America Uruquav Uzbekistan Venezuela (the Bolivarian Republic of) Viet Nam Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

The Committee recommends that the delegations of the above Member States be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 34th session.

The delegations of the following Member States have submitted credentials in the form of notes, letters or other documents issued by a minister other than the Minister for Foreign Affairs and not so authorized by the latter, by the head of a diplomatic mission, by a Permanent Delegate to UNESCO or by a senior government official:

- Bahrain Brazil Democratic Republic of the Congo Gambia Guatemala Haiti Honduras Italy Jamaica
- Kenya Mauritania Norway Poland Sao Tome and Principe Somalia Spain Timor-Leste

The Committee proposes that these notes, letters and other documents be accepted as the provisional credentials of the delegations of the Member States concerned, subject to later presentation of credentials in due form, and that in the meantime these delegations be allowed to take part in the work of the 34th session of the General Conference.

Credentials in due form have been submitted by the delegation of the Netherlands Antilles, Associate Member.

Provisional credentials have also been received for the delegation of the British Virgin Islands, Associate Member.

The Committee has also received credentials in due form for the observer delegation of the Holy See, and provisional credentials for the observer delegation of Palestine.

The Committee proposes that these credentials should also be accepted.

The delegations of the following Member States have not yet submitted credentials:

Antigua and Barbuda Chad Congo Dominica Grenada Guinea-Bissau Ireland Kiribati Marshall Islands Micronesia (Federated States of) Niue Rwanda Sierra Leone Tunisia Tuvalu United Arab Emirates Vanuatu

The delegations of the following Associate Members have not yet submitted credentials:

Aruba	Macao (China)
Cayman Islands	Tokelau

The following observer delegation has not yet submitted credentials:

Lichtenstein