You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 10:37:25 Aug 23, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

Armenian National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameArmenian National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale arménienne pour l'UNESCO

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Government House 2
3, Vazgen Sargsian Street
0010 Yerevan

Phone(374-10) 54-40-41 (Ext. 212)
Fax(374-10) 54-39-25
E-mailv.kazhoyan@mfa.am (SG); a.karapetyan@mfa.am; l.eyramjyan@mfa.am; g.yedigaryan@mfa.am
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr. Edward Nalbandyan *
Election DateAvril 2008
Mandated duration
StartedApril 2008
Type of Appointmentex officio *
Government PostOther

President of the Armenian National Commission for UNESCO

NameMr Vahram Kazhoyan
Election DateJuly 2010
Mandated duration
StartedJuly 2010

Date and Method of Creation10 October 1992
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted12/12/1995 and last revised
LegislationThe Statutes and Regulations of the National Commission were established by a decree of the Supreme Soviet (National Assembly) in 1992.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre of the National Commission, established in 1998 with UNESCO's financial assistance, is located at the Yerevan State University and holds both UNESCO and UN publications.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The Executive Committee
- The General Assembly
- The Secretariat.
*Note: The Commission has not yet established its Programme Committees.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission is composed of 15 members representing various ministries and governmental departments, institutions, agencies and NGOs specializing in the fields of UNESCO's competence.
The Commission meets in Plenary once a year.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee consists of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Executive Secretary of the Commission, as well as the Chairmen of the specialised committees. It meets at least once every three months.
General AssemblyThe General Assembly consists of all the members of the National Commission and it meets at least once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has no sub-committees at present. It works, on an individual project/activity/needs basis, with experts in the relevant areas of competence.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Armenian National Commission for UNESCO collaborates with a number of National Commissions (Georgia, Lithuania, Greece, Iran, Italy, Latvia, Russia, France, Turkey and others) and maintains close working relations with UNESCO Cluster Office in Moscow.