You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 06:56:09 Aug 24, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization



Cook Islands

Cook Islands
  • © UNESCO/T. Carr
  • Avarua tunes into 'Small Island Voice' forum

The Cook Islands joined UNESCO on 25 October 1989. The country is covered by the UNESCO Office in Apia, Samoa.

The Cook Islands, located in Polynesia in the Pacific Ocean, consist of nine volcanic islands and numerous atolls covering approximately 240 square kilometres. Agriculture provides most of the country’s income, in particular through the export of copra (shelled coconut kernels from which oil can be extracted) and citrus fruit.

As part of the project “Basic Trades for Small Island Nations”, young construction workers in the country were provided in 2006 with literacy skills to improve their qualification.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific