You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 07:00:14 Aug 24, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization



The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • © UNESCO/Postl Astrid
  • St John the Theologian – Kaneo with Ohrid lake

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia joined UNESCO on June 28, 1993.

Ten years later, the country organized with UNESCO the 2003 Ohrid Forum on the Dialogue among Civilizations. It opened the way for a series of South-East European regional summits aiming to forge a culture of dialogue, tolerance and peace.

A sub-regional project, Information and Communication Technologies for the Development of Education and the Construction of a Knowledge Society for South Eastern Europe, was launched in 2003.

Since 2003, UNESCO is associated with the “Struga Poetry Evenings” festival, an international cultural event held since 1961. The Struga “Golden Crown” is awarded annually to a renowned poet. With UNESCO, the festival has added the “Bridges of Struga” prize for young poets. Prizes are announced at UNESCO on March 21, World Poetry Day.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific