You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 02:06:05 Aug 25, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

Netherlands National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameNetherlands National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale des Pays Bas pour l'UNESCO

Kortenaerkade, 11
2502 LT The Hague

Mail AddressP.O. Box 29777
2502 LT The Hague (Den Haag)
Phone+31 70 42 60 263
Fax+31 70 42 60 359
E-mailscunesco@unesco.nl; info@unesco.nl
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.nl
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMs Andrée van Es
Election DateOctober 2014
Mandated duration4 years, renewable once
StartedOctober 2014
Type of AppointmentAppointed by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs, of Education, Culture and Science and of Development Cooperation, after consultation of the National Commission

NameMs Marielies Schelhaas
Election DateAugust 2015
Mandated duration
StartedAugust 2015

Date and Method of CreationMay 1947
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted01/09/1998 and last revised 04/08/2014
LegislationThe Commission was established by a Royal Decree in 1947, which was modified in 1994 and in 2014.
The Commission's organization and modalities of operation have been approved in 1998 by the Minister of Education, Culture and Science, in accordance with the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and Development Cooperation.
Documentation CentreThough the National Commission has not settled any official Documentation Centre, all UNESCO publications received by its Secretariat are held in the Documentation Centre of the Netherlands Organisation for International Cooperation in Higher Education (NUFFIC).
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly, which meets in plenary 4 times a year;
- Several ad-hoc sub committees on various subjects;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe Commission consists of 11 full-members, who are appointed by the Ministers of Education, Culture and Science.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Netherlands Commission maintains close relations with National Commissions, especially within the European region and mainly through mutual participation in meetings and other activities.