You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:56:32 Sep 05, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Asia and the Pacific

Kazakhstan National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameKazakhstan National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale du Kazakhstan pour l'UNESCO

31 Kunayev street
010000 Astana
Republic of Kazakhstan

Phone(7 71 72) 72 03 27; (7 71 72) 72 03 20
(7 71 72) 72 01 97; (7 71 72) 72 03 47
E-maila.utegenova@mfa.kz (SG); zh.shaimenova@mfa.kz; b.khabibulla@mfa.kz
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.natcom.kz
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Arystanbek Mukhamediuly*
StartedMay 2014
Type of Appointment*ex officio
Government PostMinister of Culture

NameMs Assel Utegenova
Election Date13 November 2008
Mandated duration
StartedOctober 2008

Date and Method of CreationDecember 1992
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted24/12/1992 and last revised
LegislationThe National Commission works under its Regulations, adopted by the Cabinet Minsters of the Republic of Kazakhstan.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly, which meets twice a year;
- The Bureau, which meets in case of necessity;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe Commission is composed of Ministers and Vice-Ministers for education, science, culture and communication, directors of different scientific and research institutions, rectors of national universities, directors of state museums and theaters, Director of the National Library, Chairman of the Association for Protection of Cultural Heritage Sites, Editor-in-Chief of ''Parasat'' national magazine and others.
Executive CommitteeThe Bureau of the National Comission (its Executive body) meets one or two times per annum, as necessary.
General AssemblyThe Assembly meets annually.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThere are no sub-committees or sub-commissions that have been created on a legal basis.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewUNESCO Almaty Cluster Office, Central Asian National Commissions, UNESCO Office in Bangkok.