## 38TH SESSION - UNESCO GENERAL CONFERENCE DELEGATES INFORMATION BUREAU

## CICOMMISSION

Date	Tuesday, 10 November	Room	Room XI
N° meeting	1	Hour	From: 10 a.m.  To: 1:10 p.m.
Chairperson(s)	Dr. Abdulla El Reyes	Country	United Arab Emirates

## SUMMARY OF DEBATE(S)

Items examined	Item 3.4 - Preparation of the Draft Programme and Budget for 2018-2021 (39 C/5) Item 4.5 - Conclusions of the Youth Forum			
Debate no	1	Debate status	Start and End	
Related documents	38 C/NOM/1 + Add, 38 C/COM.CI/1 Prov., 38 C/REP/23, 38 C/REP/24, 38 C/7, 38 C/19			
DRs examined				
Countries that took floor	Canada, Sweden, Denmark, Kenya, Azerbaijan, Zimbabwe, Finland, Turkey, France, Norway, Ukraine, Brazil, Russian Federation, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), El Salvador, Austria, Australia, Paraguay, Kuwait, China, Germany, Netherlands, Slovenia, Poland, Dominican Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, United Arab Emirates, Argentina, Egypt, Algeria, Mozambique, Niger, Philippines, Grenada.			
Summary of debate	The Chairperson of the Nominations Committee recommended the following composition for the Bureau of CI Commission:  Chairperson: Dr. Abdulla EI Reyes, United Arab Emirates (Group 5(b)) Vice-Chairpersons: H.E. Ms Cristina Rodríguez Galán, Andorra (Group 1) Mr Andrejs Vasilevs, Latvia (Group 2) Minister Leticia Casati, Paraguay (Group 3) Ms Wang Hongmin, China (Group 4) Rapporteur: Mr Riche-Mike Wellington, Ghana (Group 5(a))  The Commission elected its Bureau.			

The Chairperson, Dr. Abdulla El Reyes (United Arab Emirates), opened the session, congratulated those elected and welcomed the delegates. He gave his opening speech.

The Chairperson presented the organization and method of work of the Commission, the draft agenda and the provisional timetable (9 items to be examined in 8 debates). The Commission adopted the timetable with the corrections announced to the Delegates.

The Chairperson welcomed the representative of the Director-General, Deputy Director-General (Getachew Engida), the Directors of the Communication and Information (Guy Berger from the Division for Freedom of Expression and Indrajit Banerjee from the Knowledge Societies Division), Secretary and Deputy Secretary of the CI Commission (respectively Cedric Wachholz and Davide Storti), the Rapporteur of the CI Commission (Mr Riche-Mike Wellington (Ghana), the Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Council of the Information for All Programme (IFAP), Ms. Chafica Haddad (Grenada), and the Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Council of the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC), Ms. Albana Shala (The Netherlands).

The Chairperson of the CI Commission gave the floor to the Deputy Director-General, who made a general presentation of IFAP activities and introduced the document 38 C/REP/24. Deputy Director-General thanked Member States for their support of the IFAP Programme.

The Chairperson of IFAP presented the Report on the implementation of the Information for All Programme (IFAP) (2014-2015) (38 C/REP/24). Ms Haddad thanked UNESCO for organizing the event "Youth and the Internet: Fighting Radicalization and Extremism" (16-17 June 2015, UNESCO Headquarters). The Chairperson also thanked IFAP donors.

The Deputy Director-General also gave a short introduction to the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) and introduced the document 38 C/REP/23.

The Chairperson of IPDC presented the Report by the Intergovernmental Council of the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) on its activities (2014-2015) (38 C/REP/23). Ms Shala thanked the donors for their support and Guy Berger and his team for their work.

The first debate on items 3.4 and 4.5.was introduced by the Deputy Director-General Getachew Engida. The representative of ADG/BSP, Deputy BSP, Mr. Jean-Yves Le Saux, made an overall presentation of item 3.4 (Preparation of the Draft Programme and Budget for 2018-2021 (39C/5)).

Conclusions of the Youth Forum (Item 4.5) were presented by Ms Samantha Montesarchio (Italy) and Mr Juan Diego Niño Vargas (Colombia).

The Chairperson opened the floor to the delegates for their comments.

Delegates from the following countries took the floor (in order of interventions): Canada, Sweden, Denmark, Kenya, Azerbaijan, Zimbabwe, Finland, Turkey, France, Norway, Ukraine, Brazil, Russian Federation, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), El Salvador, Austria, Australia, Paraguay, Kuwait, China, Germany, Netherlands, Slovenia, Poland, Dominican Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, United Arab Emirates, Argentina, Egypt, Algeria, Mozambique, Niger, Philippines, Grenada.

The representatives of the Director-General, Deputy Director-General Getachew Engida, responded to the delegates points and thanked them for their feedback.

The Chairperson, Dr. Abdulla El Reyes (United Arab Emirates), adjourned the session at 1:10 p.m.